29
Oct
11

Weekly Photo Challenge: HIDDEN

This week’s photo challenge is dedicated to my father who recently passed away and, in celebration of All Soul’s Day on November 2.

A night before my Dad’s funeral, I discovered two little creatures hiding among the bouquet of flowers beside his coffin.

This brown butterfly was clinging on one of the lamps.

A dragonfly was on a stalk and seemed like smiling.

It was the last wake night. There were so many people who came in to give their last respect to my Dad. But only a few noticed these two guards sitting on both sides of the coffin. They were hiding among the flowers.

According to the old folks, these creatures  were not really insects. They were angels who were tasked to fetch my Dad and guide him through the Light. I am sure many people out there would argue as to this is true or not. But this is just one of the superstitions in our place. I don’t believe in a lot of superstitions, but I want to believe on this one. I want to believe that my Dad has been fetched by these two angels, and so at this very moment, he should be in the safe hands of the Lord.

Love you, Dad.

**********************************

Check out my eulogy for my Dad HERE.


36 Responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: HIDDEN”


  1. October 29, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    What a touching story, I’m sure your dad is safe now thanks for sharing

    Like

  2. October 29, 2011 at 6:35 pm

    “According to the old folks, these creatures were not really insects. They were angels who were tasked to fetch my Dad and guide him through the Light. I am sure many people out there would argue as to this is true or not. But this is just one of the superstitions in our place. I don’t believe in a lot of superstitions, but I want to believe on this one.” — I like these lines and we share the same thoughts and beliefs, I don’t believe in a lot of superstitions but when my father passed away and so was my brother, I’ve seen these creatures too. True or not, I also believe these creatures are representations of their already gone body. These creatures are there to let us know that they’re just there to reassure us that they’re guiding us… I wish you well my friend… 🙂

    Like

  3. 7 Nandini
    October 29, 2011 at 7:59 pm

    Wow, beautiful pictures 🙂

    Like

  4. October 29, 2011 at 8:07 pm

    Sorry for your loss. They are most definitely gentle winged angels coming on a mission.
    How hard it is to love those who love us the best.

    Like

  5. October 29, 2011 at 8:09 pm

    two of my fave winged creatures 🙂 I don’t believe in superstitious beliefs but I respect others’…and yeah, i respect yours too! Thanks for sharing! Picturesque pics and epiphany!

    Happy New Week!

    Like

  6. October 29, 2011 at 8:19 pm

    A beautiful sentiment for a difficult time. I’m sure those small creatures were there for a reason – what a comfort to find them in the midst of your sorrow. Thanks for sharing your story…

    Like

    • 14 nelson RN
      October 30, 2011 at 1:10 pm

      Yeah, you’re right. I think they were there to somehow provide comfort during the times I needed it. It seems the Lord shows his love in many different ways. Thanks for dropping by.

      Like

  7. 15 jakesprinter
    October 29, 2011 at 9:55 pm

    Amazing photos perfect for this week themes thanks for sharing

    Like

  8. October 29, 2011 at 11:59 pm

    Sorry about the loss of your father. I find your photos quite beautiful and apropos. The butterfly is known to be symbolic of keeping the faith to your beliefs and/or to your loved one as life comes with many hard and difficult transitions. And the dragonfly is known to be symbolic of change and being mindful of our deeper thoughts. It’s also a reminder to live in the present and to live our lives to the fullest.

    Like

    • 18 nelson RN
      October 30, 2011 at 1:13 pm

      Indeed! Thanks for sharing these symbolisms. Surely, I found comfort from these little creatures. Thanks for the sympathy, Bashert04.

      Like

  9. October 30, 2011 at 10:55 am

    Sorry about the loss of your Dad. These are a beautiful tribute for him.

    Like

  10. November 1, 2011 at 9:22 pm

    The brown butterfly is eye-catching, Nelson.

    Like

  11. November 3, 2011 at 8:26 am

    What a beautiful tribute to your dad. I believe those were indeed angels. I often see butterflies in the most random of places and I think that it is one of my lost relatives just checking in to let me know all is well. : )

    Like

    • 26 nelson RN
      November 3, 2011 at 1:14 pm

      Thanks! Yeah, it’s hard to explain, but we find comfort in those butterflies knowing they are representations of our lost loved ones.

      Thanks for dropping by!

      Like

  12. November 4, 2011 at 3:13 am

    Beautiful photos and what a lovely tribute to your father. All best wishes to you and your family.

    Like

  13. November 5, 2011 at 4:42 am

    I am so sorry to hear about your dad. I love these photographs, I’ve never seen a brown butterfly, it’s beautiful! I do believe your father is still there looking out for you, just as you will for your son (in 80 or so years)!!

    Like

  14. November 5, 2011 at 10:13 pm

    Nelson, what a beautiful post. The text and the photos so moving. A butterfly and a dragonfly-one couldn’t ask for better envoys to heaven. My best wishes to you and your family.

    Like

  15. November 6, 2011 at 4:34 am

    I did not know your father had passed. I send you my deepest sympathies. He surely was accompanied by angels and love overflowing from his son to set him winging on his way. I believe that.
    Peace

    Like


I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts with me here :)


No one person can ever experience all that life has to offer. It is only through sharing - experiences, feelings, insights - that we can hope to grow beyond our own meager lifetime.

Nurses are tough people. But behind great nurses are inspirations to keep them doing what they need to do - TO CARE.

Nurse or non-nurse, please feel free to move around the site. Everybody needs inspirations to be encouraged every now and then.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,321 other subscribers
***Inspirational quotes are lifted from elsewhere (Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, Instagram). If there are issues regarding copyright, please let me know and I'll take the post down.

Blog Stats

  • 363,871 hits

NEGOSYONG PANG OFWs! Check mo to!

Unified-Products-and-Services-Inc_-or-UPS-for-brevity-sister-company-of-GPRS-Victor-globalpinoy_me-was-established-2011

Archives

October 2011
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Live Traffic Feed

Proud Member :)

BC_BLOGGERS

DISCLAIMER

Health posts here are the author's opinion and should not be taken as professional advice. It is still best to consult your physician. Posts in this site protect patient confidentiality, so if you have any concerns regarding any of the nursing posts, please send me a message and I will be happy to address them.