Archive for April 30th, 2013

30
Apr
13

Marriage Retreat

0_0_0_0_524_349_library_145837My wife and I recently went on a “marriage retreat” as probably part of my renewal as a person. We stayed overnight in a hotel with 24 other couples, and listened to guest speakers who have so many things to say about love, marriage and family.

We were actually told by the organizers that we are not supposed to post pictures, especially on Facebook, so I wouldn’t be posting pictures from the retreat here. We were also told to just keep to ourselves what we learned there, so what I’m going to write is about my insight on the program.

I’ve always known, even before getting married, that family life is not easy. Coming from a poor family, I was a witness to my parents’ struggles. My father had to work abroad, away from his family to support us. My mom had to ran a small business to augment my father’s earnings. I always knew that when I get married myself, things could be the same.

My own married life had its ups and downs. But I was just so glad that my wife and I were able to breeze through the challenges successfully. In our sixth year of marriage, we have somewhat hit a certain balance – emotionally, physically, financially.

And when I thought I knew everything about married life – I was wrong. There are still so many things to learn, to know, to experience. Listening to couples who have experienced the worsts in married life, I slowly understood what it really meant to be a husband and a father.

The marriage retreat was like a renewal of our vows. I feel there’s a lot of change with the way I look at married life and how I would deal with the challenges. I know that the future is uncertain, and that I could not see where our path would lead, but I am confident that God is with us and that His will for us is that we be together. He will give us what we need to face that future.

I highly recommend a marriage retreat especially for couples who need more guidance on how to handle their relationships.  I thought I was good. Now, I know I can be better. I can improve.

photocredit:denanburke.com

30
Apr
13

Be Yourself

image

repost from FB




No one person can ever experience all that life has to offer. It is only through sharing - experiences, feelings, insights - that we can hope to grow beyond our own meager lifetime.

Nurses are tough people. But behind great nurses are inspirations to keep them doing what they need to do - TO CARE.

Nurse or non-nurse, please feel free to move around the site. Everybody needs inspirations to be encouraged every now and then.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,321 other subscribers
***Inspirational quotes are lifted from elsewhere (Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, Instagram). If there are issues regarding copyright, please let me know and I'll take the post down.

Blog Stats

  • 363,869 hits

NEGOSYONG PANG OFWs! Check mo to!

Unified-Products-and-Services-Inc_-or-UPS-for-brevity-sister-company-of-GPRS-Victor-globalpinoy_me-was-established-2011

Archives

April 2013
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Live Traffic Feed

Proud Member :)

BC_BLOGGERS

DISCLAIMER

Health posts here are the author's opinion and should not be taken as professional advice. It is still best to consult your physician. Posts in this site protect patient confidentiality, so if you have any concerns regarding any of the nursing posts, please send me a message and I will be happy to address them.