29
Jan
12

The Doctor

I got this from FB and I just thought this is worth sharing.
*********************************
A doctor entered the hospital in hurry after being called in for an urgent surgery. He answered the call ASAP, changed his clothes & went directly to the surgery block.
He found the boy’s father pacing in the hall waiting for the doctor. On seeing him, the dad yelled, “Why did you take all this time to come? Don’t you know that my son’s life is in danger? Don’t you have any sense of responsibility?”
The doctor smiled and said, “I am sorry, I wasn’t in the hospital and I came as fast as I could after receiving the call…… And now, I wish you’d calm down so that I can do my work.”
“Calm down?! What if your son was in this room right now, would you calm down? If your own son dies now what will U do??” said the father angrily.
The doctor smiled again and replied: “I will say what Job said in the Holy Book “From dust we came and to dust we return, blessed be the name of God”. Doctors cannot prolong lives. Go and intercede for your son, we will do our best by God’s grace.”
“Giving advises when we’re not concerned is so easy” murmured the father.
The surgery took some hours after which the doctor went out happy,   “Thank goodness!, your son is saved!” And without waiting for the father’s reply he carried on his way running. “If you have any question, ask the nurse!!”
“Why is he so arrogant? He couldn’t wait some minutes so that I could ask about my son’s state” commented the father when seeing the nurse minutes after the doctor left.
The nurse answered, tears coming down her face, “His son died yesterday in a road accident, he was in the burial when we called him for your son’s surgery. And now that he saved your son’s life, he left running to finish his son’s burial.”
**********************************
Moral: Never judge anyone because you never know how their life is and what they’re going through”.

13 Responses to “The Doctor”


  1. 1 Northern Narratives
    January 29, 2012 at 6:24 am

    This is very true.

    Like

  2. January 29, 2012 at 9:49 am

    Wow, such a powerful post! I agree it’s not always good to judge because we normally do not know each person’s story especially for perfect strangers.

    My heart goes out to the doctor. It is never easy processing the pain of losing a loved one

    Like

    • January 29, 2012 at 10:48 am

      Indeed, Arvee. It is very easy to judge, and speak about another person hastily, especially if we are in a bad mood. But what we say can never be taken back, even if we say we’re sorry. I also feel for the doctor, because most of the time, I find myself like in that doctor’s situation.

      Like

      • January 29, 2012 at 7:27 pm

        Agree, I can just imagine how hard it is to deal with the emotional side of your job. I’m sure it must be tough so I salute all of you in the medical profession as I’m pretty sure it’s never easy.

        Like

      • January 29, 2012 at 7:32 pm

        Yeah it’s very true, what we say can never be taken back even if we say sorry, the scar remains.

        It is always better to not say a word when we have nothing good to say and it is always better to not judge a person because really, we don’t know his/her story.

        Like

  3. January 30, 2012 at 2:43 am

    What a powerful Sunday story! This is a post we can all learn from… a post that will remain with me for quite some time. Thank you for sharing these words of wisdom.

    Like

  4. February 10, 2012 at 12:34 am

    Heya Nelson
    I have also read this before in fb only, infact my father asked me too read. And yes its very inspirational I was also thinking to share it. Our thoughts really match. In every situation we think only by just being us, we never care about other. But in reality we should also sometimes think by keeping our self in others shoe.

    Like

    • 11 nelson RN
      February 10, 2012 at 1:06 am

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Tashu. Indeed, we should sometimes put ourselves in other’s shoes, only then we would feel how it is to be in a more difficult life than what we have.
      Cheers!

      Like

  5. February 10, 2012 at 8:34 pm

    Bro, this one of the most touching stories I’ve ever read. When we work in the medical field, may it be nurse or a doctor, we put others first…we try to save a life and for a moment forget about our own. Some people appreciate what we do, others think its our plain job. People tend to be judge not knowing that we are people too. That we have our families that need us just like them. I pray for the doctor’s son and his family. He is a hero…and people should realize that. To serve the sick is a calling…it takes a lot of heart to do what we do. What world would it be if one day, young people decide that its to much to be a doc or a nurse? God bless you and your family….

    Like

    • February 11, 2012 at 7:55 am

      Thanks for leaving your thoughts, doc. Indeed, some people forget that we are human beings too. And although we are being paid for what we do, that doesn’t mean that we stop being humans, and start being robots.
      God bless you too!

      Like


I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts with me here :)

No one person can ever experience all that life has to offer. It is only through sharing - experiences, feelings, insights - that we can hope to grow beyond our own meager lifetime.

Nurses are tough people. But behind great nurses are inspirations to keep them doing what they need to do - TO CARE.

Nurse or non-nurse, please feel free to move around the site. Everybody needs inspirations to be encouraged every now and then.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,307 other followers

***Inspirational quotes are lifted from elsewhere (Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, Instagram). If there are issues regarding copyright, please let me know and I'll take the post down.

Blog Stats

  • 315,993 hits

Please click :)

NEGOSYONG PANG OFWs! Check mo to!

Unified-Products-and-Services-Inc_-or-UPS-for-brevity-sister-company-of-GPRS-Victor-globalpinoy_me-was-established-2011

Archives

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Live Traffic Feed

Proud Member :)

BC_BLOGGERS

DISCLAIMER

Health posts here are the author's opinion and should not be taken as professional advice. It is still best to consult your physician. Posts in this site protect patient confidentiality, so if you have any concerns regarding any of the nursing posts, please send me a message and I will be happy to address them.

