25
Jan
12

How Much Do I Make?

“You’re a Nurse? That’s cool, I wanted to do that when I was a kid. How much do you make?”

“HOW MUCH DO I MAKE?

I can make holding your hand seem like the most important thing in the world when you’re scared.

I can make your child breathe when they stop.

I can help your father survive a heart attack.

I make myself get out of bed at 5am to make sure your mother has the medicine she needs to live.

I work all day to save the lives of strangers.

I make my family wait for dinner until I know your family member is taken cared of.

I make myself skip lunch so that I can make sure that everything I did for your wife today is charted.

I make myself work weekends and holidays because people dont just get sick monday thru friday.

Today, I might save your life.

I make a difference, what do YOU do?”

*************************

Reposted from FB.

And I reposted this because I love what I do, I respect my work, and I’m in not only because of the paycheck.

27 Responses to “How Much Do I Make?”


  1. January 25, 2012 at 8:08 pm

    That comes from a heart that cares. A lot of us has forgotten why we chose to be in the medical field after so many years of doing the same thing again and again. And the longer we’ve been in the profession, the harder it gets. more legal stuff, more added standards that just piles up, more technologies that takes away our time from the bedside, some patients and their families lost that ability to appreciate the things other do for them, seeing us as another worker that must cater to their every whim ( sad but in America, it happens more often than you think) which makes you question “what I’m I doing to myself?”….but today your brought back that passion and hope that it’s worth fighting for. Nursing is a calling. If people don’t have the heart to serve, to be patient, to make others be the “first” instead of themselves, then they are in the wrong field.
    Thank for today’ beautiful inspiration. Best wishes to you and your family.

    Like

    • January 28, 2012 at 4:19 am

      Thanks for dropping some lines, Dr B! It was nice to hear a comment coming from the same field. Yeah, at times I get to question why I’m doing this to myself – trying to absorb other people’s problems when I have so much on my own. But yeah, nursing is a calling, and you have to put your job in your heart to be able to perform well. My regards to you and to your family in the US, coming from Abu Dhabi 🙂

      Like

    • January 28, 2012 at 12:27 pm

      I wanted to post a comment here as the both of you are nurses. Proud to have known you both. I also have 3 nieces of your profession.

      Great to know you guys and in behalf of the millions of people around the world, thanks to all the care you give to those who need it most.

      Stay blessed.

      Great post. 🙂

      Like

  2. January 26, 2012 at 4:23 am

    Oh believe me, you do a lot!!! More than words can tell…that is for sure! Thanks so much for being who you are!!!

    Like

  3. 9 Northern Narratives
    January 26, 2012 at 6:03 am

    The world needs more people like you 🙂

    Like

  4. January 26, 2012 at 10:18 am

    What you do every day, Nelson… is priceless.

    I had a nurse hold my hand for a surgery under IV sedation. That’s how I knew she never left my side. It was twenty years ago and I still remember. A touching post…

    Like

  5. January 27, 2012 at 10:29 am

    Nice response .. well, responses 🙂
    Keep fighting the good fight — the world needs people like you!

    Like

  6. January 28, 2012 at 8:43 pm

    It is sad to say, that in our present day our worth is often judged by how much money we make. So true, nurses are so undervalued with their pay as well as their true worth as how they impact our lives when our lives is on the line.

    Like

  7. January 30, 2012 at 9:47 pm

    It always blows my mind when people ask that question of other people. What a perfect answer Nelson RN! Thank you for being the person you are. Margie

    Like

  8. 21 Priyanka
    February 29, 2012 at 2:43 pm

    My boyfriend sent me link of this blog to check some health info. I really loved reading your articles. Apart from a good human being, I think you are an awesome writer too. I am a writer myself and really love the way you express your feelings. Simple and heart-touching

    Like

  9. April 5, 2012 at 8:24 am

    what a nice post… proud to be a nurse… (^__^)V

    Like

  10. May 7, 2013 at 10:50 pm

    A wonderful post — super clever and heartfelt! Loved it 🙂 ~ RL

    Like


I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts with me here :)

No one person can ever experience all that life has to offer. It is only through sharing - experiences, feelings, insights - that we can hope to grow beyond our own meager lifetime.

Nurses are tough people. But behind great nurses are inspirations to keep them doing what they need to do - TO CARE.

Nurse or non-nurse, please feel free to move around the site. Everybody needs inspirations to be encouraged every now and then.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,332 other followers

***Inspirational quotes are lifted from elsewhere (Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, Instagram). If there are issues regarding copyright, please let me know and I'll take the post down.

Blog Stats

  • 326,196 hits

NEGOSYONG PANG OFWs! Check mo to!

Unified-Products-and-Services-Inc_-or-UPS-for-brevity-sister-company-of-GPRS-Victor-globalpinoy_me-was-established-2011

Archives

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Live Traffic Feed

Proud Member :)

BC_BLOGGERS

DISCLAIMER

Health posts here are the author's opinion and should not be taken as professional advice. It is still best to consult your physician. Posts in this site protect patient confidentiality, so if you have any concerns regarding any of the nursing posts, please send me a message and I will be happy to address them.

