10
Nov
11

Day 5 at Yas Island

SEEING THE GAP

Being in Yas Island has made me see so many things that I don’t usually see in my city. The island is so beautiful. There are stunning buildings, golf courses and race tracks. But my stay here also made me see something not readily seen by the eye – the “gap” between the very rich and the poor.

Yas island is known for being a luxury island, as it houses some of the most expensive golf courses, race tracks and luxurious hotels. Big concerts are also being held here. I can therefore say that people who come here, especially those who stay more days are those in the wealthy side. They are the ones who have the extra money to spend for these leisure activities.

However, there are also people who come here in Yas island TO WORK. They are those who earns a living by serving those people who come here for luxury. I have met some of them – the waiters and waitresses, the bell boys, the housekeeping members, the simple drivers. They are those who wouldn’t spend their money on luxury, but would rather send them to their families.

And then I remembered the last typhoon that hit my province in the Philippines a couple of weeks ago. The floods were so high that the people were forced to evacuate their homes and found shelters in evacuation centers. And during those times, as reported on tv, there was lack of almost everything – people were hungry, there were not much food and water, and no decent place to clean or wash themselves.

Having seen both worlds, sometimes, I ask myself why life has to be so unfair at times. There are people in this world who have excesses, and there are people who lacks in a lot of things. I couldn’t readily answer this question, but I guess we just have to face the reality that life is simply like this.

I just have this wish – that I hope someday, there will come a time where the opportunities will be equal to everyone else in the world – that anybody can play golf if they choose this sport for a past time, that anybody can just come to a 4 or 5-star hotel and live luxuriously, and eat whatever he wants, that anybody can choose to be a Formula 1 race car driver if he wanted to.

It’s just a wishful thinking, I know. But who knows. Remember, the world is round.

***********************************

CONCERT PERFORMERS AT YAS ISLAND

This is the schedule of concerts for the next 3 nights here at Yas island.

Nov 11. BRITNEY SPEARS

Nov 12. THE CULT

Nov 12. INCUBUS

And lastly,

Nov 13. PAUL MC CARTNEY!

It’s going to be a lucky week :)))))))

**********************************

pic credits: mi9.com, sweetslyrics.com, 100xr.com, askmen.com


8 Responses to “Day 5 at Yas Island”


  1. November 13, 2011 at 3:33 am

    Your last comment… that you have just one wish…that everyone in the world would be able to play at a nice golf course or stay at a luxury hotel. That is so poignantly written. Living in many nice places, I see this, too. Even in my small Ohio town where I’m staying now, there is a lavish yacht club with a restaurant, pool, big parties, fancy people. I get invited to join friends there, but I HATE that my friends at AA who are very poor would never be able to attend because of their poverty and position in life.

    That injustice is everywhere… but you write about it so well. It’s good not to look the other way. You are a good writer! ; )

    Like

    • 2 nelson RN
      November 20, 2011 at 2:10 pm

      Thanks for sharing some notes, Linda. I really love it when you share similar stories🙂 Sometimes, it’s difficult to notice the ‘smaller’ people around. I always have them in my prayers.

      Like

  2. 3 Marc
    November 13, 2011 at 4:13 am

    Well said! I hope and pray for equal opportunities too. But as long as there are greedy people in this planet, that dream will still have to take time.

    Are you going to watch all these concerts?? I hate you.

    Like

  3. November 20, 2011 at 7:51 am

    Hopefully your prayers will be granted. I also have that prayer too that someday somehow, life will be fair to everyone.

    It’s interesting to learn about Yas Island… There have been a lot of developments in UAE.

    Looking forward to your Gran Prix pics. I believe you must be very busy by then… Enjoy!🙂

    Like


I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts with me here :)

No one person can ever experience all that life has to offer. It is only through sharing - experiences, feelings, insights - that we can hope to grow beyond our own meager lifetime.

Nurses are tough people. But behind great nurses are inspirations to keep them doing what they need to do - TO CARE.

Nurse or non-nurse, please feel free to move around the site. Everybody needs inspirations to be encouraged every now and then.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,307 other followers

***Inspirational quotes are lifted from elsewhere (Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, Instagram). If there are issues regarding copyright, please let me know and I'll take the post down.

Blog Stats

  • 315,881 hits

Please click :)

NEGOSYONG PANG OFWs! Check mo to!

Unified-Products-and-Services-Inc_-or-UPS-for-brevity-sister-company-of-GPRS-Victor-globalpinoy_me-was-established-2011

Archives

November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Live Traffic Feed

Proud Member :)

BC_BLOGGERS

DISCLAIMER

Health posts here are the author's opinion and should not be taken as professional advice. It is still best to consult your physician. Posts in this site protect patient confidentiality, so if you have any concerns regarding any of the nursing posts, please send me a message and I will be happy to address them.

