06
Nov
11

Day 1 at Yas Island: PROLOGUE

cubiccapacity.com

It’s this time of the year again!

Around the first to second week of November, the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix is held at the Yas Island here in Abu Dhabi. And for the third time, I was chosen to work as paramedics for this annual international event.

At first I thought I wasn’t going to this event this year, as I was told earlier by my unit manager that I was not going because I was precepting a nursing student. But then, the higher authorities managing the Grand Prix have sent a new email, requesting for the same people who have been to the Grand prix to come back and work again this year. My name was included in their list, so I had to go. They must have liked our services rendered the previous years🙂

I always looked forward to coming to this event. It is the kind of work most nurses would love to be. Allow me to enumerate the reasons:

1.  It is a totally different experience working in a field tent hospital. As paramedics, we would be receiving patients on a different scenario.

2.  Who wouldn’t love to rest in a cool place after work? At Yas Island, nurses are housed in a hotel. We had buffet meals. Somebody cleans the room for you. There’s always fresh towels for you.

3.  It is a great experience working with different nurses and doctors from different hospitals in Abu Dhabi. To work with one of the best health practitioners in the region is something.

4.  I won’t be a hypocrite, but of course, the mission allowance given to us after this event is a pretty good sum🙂

So how’s that for a great job. Unfortunately, this is just a special mission project and it’s going to be for 11 days only. After this project, I’ll be coming back to my hospital in Al Ain City for my real job.

For the meantime, allow me to enjoy this great opportunity. And as I did previously, I’ll be sharing my day-to-day experiences with you here at Yas Island.

Check out my 2010 and 2009 Grand Prix adventures from HERE.

**********************************

orangesmile.com

CROWNE PLAZA HOTEL

I am actually writng this post while I am sitting in my hotel room already. This year, we are housed here in Crowne Plaza Hotel here in Yas island, Abu Dhabi. Today is Day 1.

The Crowne Plaza Hotel Yas Island Abu Dhabi is a 4-star hotel located adjacent to the Links Championship Golf Course.  It is within walking distance of the F1 Yas Marina Circuit and the Sheikh Zayed Mosque. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Yas Island Abu Dhabi is within 20 minutes of the international airport.

There are 428 rooms at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Yas Island Abu Dhabi.  Rooms offer views over the surrounding area, free wireless Internet access, individualized climate control, and luxurious en suite bathroom facilities.

The Crowne Plaza Hotel Yas Island Abu Dhabi is an upscale modern property.  The hotel offers a business center that is open 24 hours a day, and the entire property hosts free wireless Internet.  There are 10 meeting rooms on the property that can accommodate up to 600 people and are equipped with audiovisual equipment and lit with natural light.  For dining, guests can choose from six different restaurants and bars offering a variety of regional and international specialties.  For relaxation, the hotel offers a 25 meter swimming pool that is partially shaded, a fully equipped gym with a sauna, and a squash court. (hotelscombined.com)

It’s a bit late now and I still have an early bus to catch tomorrow. I’ll be sharing a lot of pics tomorrow, so come back really soon🙂 Gotta sleep now😀
 


5 Responses to “Day 1 at Yas Island: PROLOGUE”


  1. November 13, 2011 at 3:00 am

    Race car drivers, housekeeping service, free food, and a paycheck?

    Sounds like a dream come true, where do I sign up? : )

    Like

    • 2 nelson RN
      November 20, 2011 at 1:50 pm

      Hahaha! A dream come true indeed. But this job lasts for 11 days per year only. i am already looking forward to next year’s Formula 1!

      Like

  2. November 20, 2011 at 7:40 am

    Congrats for being chosen as one of the paramedics for that great event… “They must have liked our services rendered the previous years” -certainly…🙂

    Like


I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts with me here :)

No one person can ever experience all that life has to offer. It is only through sharing - experiences, feelings, insights - that we can hope to grow beyond our own meager lifetime.

Nurses are tough people. But behind great nurses are inspirations to keep them doing what they need to do - TO CARE.

Nurse or non-nurse, please feel free to move around the site. Everybody needs inspirations to be encouraged every now and then.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,307 other followers

***Inspirational quotes are lifted from elsewhere (Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, Instagram). If there are issues regarding copyright, please let me know and I'll take the post down.

Blog Stats

  • 315,881 hits

Please click :)

NEGOSYONG PANG OFWs! Check mo to!

Unified-Products-and-Services-Inc_-or-UPS-for-brevity-sister-company-of-GPRS-Victor-globalpinoy_me-was-established-2011

Archives

November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Live Traffic Feed

Proud Member :)

BC_BLOGGERS

DISCLAIMER

Health posts here are the author's opinion and should not be taken as professional advice. It is still best to consult your physician. Posts in this site protect patient confidentiality, so if you have any concerns regarding any of the nursing posts, please send me a message and I will be happy to address them.

