13
Jun
11

BC Bloggers Meme #5

This week’s question for fellow bloggers:

Where do you host your blogs and how much are you paying for it?

Since I started blogging in 2007, I have never paid for a hosting service. I am happy with my current domain – WordPress. I was initially with Friendster blogs, moved to Blogger, until I got to WordPress.

Sometimes I contemplate on whether I should start getting a hosting service, but in the end I stay on my free domain. I always think why I am blogging on the first place – and that is because I wanted to write what my heart and mind says. That’s all. I haven’t really thought of earning through my blogs or getting paid for the posts I write. I want to have a free hand on whatever I want to put on my blog. That is why my site is as much as possible free from ads, and unnecessary links.

I know some have a different view on getting a hosting service, but I guess, to each is his own. Whatever suits you, is for you, as long as you enjoy what you are doing.

Cheers, everyone!

**********************************

Thanks to last week’s participants!

PhotobucketI Live to Eat * Spices of My Life * Mum Writes * My Thoughts in Letters * Life Ascending * Darkanjel’s Life Musings * Black Sheep’s Lair * Journey of a Capricornian  * Inspirational Insights * Daily Notes * Digital Catharsis * Elghrasya * Sweety Paula

24 Responses to “BC Bloggers Meme #5”


  1. 1 kat
    June 14, 2011 at 4:13 am

    I agree with you. Anyway, I started blogging in 2010. 6 months after, I submitted my blog to the marketing network, was hired and got opps. A year after, I bought my own domain, but I was still using free hosting. Recently, i bought web hosting for my WP blogs. So, all my WP blogs are self-hosted. I monetized my blogs and having a self-hosted blog is a plus.

    Have a great day. BTW. I want to join this meme.

    Like

    • 2 nelson RN
      June 14, 2011 at 9:35 am

      Hmmm… you’re making me think about web hosting again… I’ll probably see what the others are answering on this meme. I might get helpful infos. You have very cool blogs, I must say. Good luck to the contest.

      Like

  2. June 14, 2011 at 10:42 am

    not techie about such stuffs.actually i started blogging thru friendster also,then i bumped into a “kababayan” who owns different sites and was WAAAAY making money out of it…i’m swayed:)

    Like

    • 4 nelson RN
      June 14, 2011 at 11:41 pm

      I envy those who are really making money out of their blogs coz it’s like hitting two birds in one stone – enjoying what they are doing, and at the same time being paid for it. Very cool!

      Like

  3. June 14, 2011 at 2:27 pm

    @kat, joining this meme is really cool, you get to visit a lot of cool blogs that you may not have seen before, and it’s fun! I guess I’ll be staying on the free domain and hosting, because I’d rather give the money to charity.

    Like

  4. June 14, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    Me naman started last 2009 just started with free domain under blogspot my aim is to get money out of my blog. Pretty good that i got some opps online but not too big because i’m under free domain .. Then last January i got free domain and hosting then additional two blogs after a month for free ulit (for a year).. Just hoping that i can monetize my current 4 blogs 🙂

    Like

  5. June 17, 2011 at 12:23 am

    Just like Sis Mona, I also started blogging 2 years ago with free domain under blogspot. It was like a diary for me until I discovered that I can earn money through blogging. I am addicted in joining contests online and one of them is joining a free domain name and hosting and luckily I won. It all started this year when my blogging career boosts up starting from winning a free domain and hosting and my blogs was also accepted by Payu2blog. 🙂

    Like

  6. June 18, 2011 at 11:42 am

    Ako naman started pa last eyar as diary din kasi in love ang lola nyo..hahaha..then stop..
    when i give birth to Iris and needed some extra bucks my friends told me about this blog monetizing..i only had one 1 that time. naging active lang ako nung Dec. 2010. tapos tuloy2 na.
    Mommy rubz buy me my own domain kaya naging 2..tapos I made my baby blog ..naging 3..tapos 2days ago i bought 2 domain for my postcard hobby postcardlover.com at shengkayful.com for feeling good blog naman..1 had now 5blogs..4 sa blogger platform and 1 hosted by PMC..andif manalo ng hosting I’ll transfer my random blog to self host naman. para makarami ng chance to monetize..
    kasi single mom kaya..heheheang haba ba?feeling ko diary lang eh no..hahaha

    Like

  7. June 19, 2011 at 7:56 am

    argh, it’s either i was totally busy or it complete slips my mind that i forgot to join this week’s bc bloggers. will just catch up next week i guess, i was anticipating it the entire week yet it came + went without me knowing now the linky is closed, too bad! anyway, sorry for that unexpected rant! i started blogging at blogger, then I won a domain + self-hosting from mommy Ma Belle so I decided to make a new one. just recently i also won another domain + self-hosting. the thought of having another blog sounds too much on my plate so i decided to transfer my son’s blog to wordpress instead. i’ve had a few opportunities of monetizing my blog + hopefully i’d be able to have more opportunities in the future. am planning to put my earning in my son’s trustfund, see. i think it will be a good idea if you monetize your blog too. you can still have free reign anyway, just make sure to take only those that will jive with your blog’s overall theme, good luck 🙂

    Like

    • 14 nelson RN
      June 19, 2011 at 10:06 am

      Thanks for the advice, VIX! I am actually thinking about it. But I might require some assistance later coz I’m definitely a booboo about blog monetizing 🙂

      Like

  8. June 24, 2011 at 5:06 pm

    You will learn later Nelson on how to monetize your blog. If you need help, andito lang ako, promise.

    Like

  9. June 26, 2011 at 8:54 pm

    hehehe di masyado Sir… I just keep on joining kaya I keep on winning kahit papaano nyahaha!

    Like

  10. June 27, 2011 at 8:43 pm

    andito lang kmi to help you..well I still consider myself newbie..but becuase of PMC i learn a lot..

    Like

  11. 18 Disano
    October 31, 2011 at 9:27 am

    I will invite all my pals to your blog, you genuinely got an awesome weblog.

    Like

  12. January 23, 2012 at 12:58 am

    @ the Writer

    heya 🙂 I am a new bee and I dont know even much about blogging stuff. But I made my blog just to share my experience same like you and to get inspired by reading some of the good writer’s blog. The greatest wealth one can earn is only the knowledge he or she possess. In today’s time money is the necessity and who does not want to get it ? but the main thing is that we should pass our knowledge so as to multiply , if we will think of getting money from it there will be less people who will be benefited, about the adds that people do on their blog for geting money is not bad according to me 😛 … Anyways My thinking is somewhat like you 🙂
    you have a great blog and thers alot to read and to know. I will keep reading 🙂

    Tashu

    Like

  13. January 23, 2012 at 1:15 am

    @ Nelson RN

    Heya I know I am replying so late for this post but its like I am a new bee and I dont know about blogging stuff that much & I am not a professional writer also but i made my blog to share my experience same like you and to gather my all beautiful memories on one single piece. The greatest wealth one can earn or he/she has is the Knowledge he possess. Knowledge should be pass on so as to get it multiply but if for that anyone has to pay , there will be less people who will get benefited. But money in today’s time is the necessity and who does not want to get it ? I dont know much about earning money but yea i have seen some people add some extra advertisements to their websites to earn some moeny, I would say its not bad :P. Anyways my thinking is somewhat like you 🙂

    Tashu

    Like

  14. January 23, 2012 at 1:16 am

    Nelson RN

    Heya I know I am replying so late for this post but its like I am a new bee and I dont know about blogging stuff that much & I am not a professional writer also but i made my blog to share my experience same like you and to gather my all beautiful memories on one single piece. The greatest wealth one can earn or he/she has is the Knowledge he possess. Knowledge should be pass on so as to get it multiply but if for that anyone has to pay , there will be less people who will get benefited. But money in today’s time is the necessity and who does not want to get it ? I dont know much about earning money but yea i have seen some people add some extra advertisements to their websites to earn some moeny, I would say its not bad :P. Anyways my thinking is somewhat like you 🙂

    Tashu

    Like

  15. January 23, 2012 at 1:17 am

    my previous comment is not geting posted 😦

    Like

  16. January 23, 2012 at 1:19 am

    Nelson RN
    Heya I am a new bee and I dont know about blogging stuff that much,but i made my blog to share my experience same like u & to gather my all beautiful memories on 1 single piece. The greatest wealth one can earn or he/she has is the Knowledge he possess. Knowledge should be pass on so as to get it multiply but if for that anyone has to pay , there will be less people who will get benefited. Money in today’s time is the necessity & who does not want to get it ? I dont know much about earning money but yea i have seen some people add some extra advertisements to their websites to earn some money, I would say its not bad :P. Anyways my thinking is somewhat like u 🙂

    Like

    • January 23, 2012 at 1:47 pm

      Hi Tashu! Thanks for dropping some lines. Maybe our brainwaves are on the same pattern. I really thought about monetizing this blog before, but then I realized that it may not be even worth it, coz I really enjoy my blog’s outlook at the moment 🙂 I just want it as it is.
      Thanks for the follow!

      Like


I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts with me here :)

No one person can ever experience all that life has to offer. It is only through sharing - experiences, feelings, insights - that we can hope to grow beyond our own meager lifetime.

Nurses are tough people. But behind great nurses are inspirations to keep them doing what they need to do - TO CARE.

Nurse or non-nurse, please feel free to move around the site. Everybody needs inspirations to be encouraged every now and then.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,327 other followers

***Inspirational quotes are lifted from elsewhere (Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, Instagram). If there are issues regarding copyright, please let me know and I'll take the post down.

Blog Stats

  • 331,426 hits

NEGOSYONG PANG OFWs! Check mo to!

Unified-Products-and-Services-Inc_-or-UPS-for-brevity-sister-company-of-GPRS-Victor-globalpinoy_me-was-established-2011

Archives

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Live Traffic Feed

Proud Member :)

BC_BLOGGERS

DISCLAIMER

Health posts here are the author's opinion and should not be taken as professional advice. It is still best to consult your physician. Posts in this site protect patient confidentiality, so if you have any concerns regarding any of the nursing posts, please send me a message and I will be happy to address them.

