25
Nov
10

Reality Checks

I have gone back to work.

After 3 weeks of vacation to the Philippines and 11 days of cool work at Yas Island, I’m back to the real world of nursing. I have started working to the unit since last weekend. And I was floated to ER on my first shift! Whoa!

I guess I should stop dreaming. I’m back to reality. Or is the reality the other way around? Ah, difficult to tell…

******************************

My son got sick. He had some temps and some cough and colds. But then I had to come to work and look after other sick people, while I leave my sick baby to my wife. Reality bites.

He is getting better now though.

******************************

Christmas is fast approaching.

We actually planned to spend Christmas in the Philippines this year. But then we backed out because of the soaring airfare ticket prices. So we took our vacation earlier (which was last month).

For overseas foreign workers like us, spending Christmas with our loved ones back home has become an expensive idea.

******************************

A dear friend of mine celebrated her birthday yesterday and held a small party in her house. I was so amazed by the amount of food she could cook in a few hours only. She prepared so many dishes which she prepared by herself only.

And then after all the cooking, she still had to entertain her guests. And what about the party postmortem care after the people have left.

Superwoman must be super tired also.

******************************

Daddy + Mommy + Baby Inigo + Shopping + Eating out = HAPPINESS

:)    :)    :)    :)    :)    :)    :)    :)    :)    :)    :)   🙂


11 Responses to “Reality Checks”


  1. 1 Marc
    November 27, 2010 at 12:03 am

    I like the equation on the last part!

    Like

  2. November 27, 2010 at 4:40 am

    What a wonderful photograph of you and your family. You have a beautiful family! I hope your son is feeling better. There’s nothing worse than seeing your children suffer, am I right or am I right?

    Like

  3. November 27, 2010 at 1:24 pm

    That really sucks when you have to leave your sick kid to look after someone else! I tried to do teacher training for a while when my kids were really small, and I hated it every time I left them, my own children, to spend the day with other peoples’ children. I gave it up because all I could think was, ‘my kids are only young once. there will always be other peoples’ kids to educate!’

    It also sucks that, just when you get time to visit your family, you can’t because of the cost😦

    Love the photo of you and your family🙂

    Like

  4. November 28, 2010 at 2:44 am

    I finally made it over to your blog. It must be hard to be so far away from your family – especially during the holidays. We have family on both the East and West Coasts and that’s hard enough!

    Thank you for the work you do that helps others.

    Like

  5. 5 digitalcatharsis
    November 29, 2010 at 1:24 am

    Hi MARC, thanks! Nice to hear from you again!

    Hi KATE, you are right and you are right. Thanks for the complements! You might want to check out my son’s site, http://inigobautista.wordpress.com It’s filled with our pics🙂

    Hi ANNELISA, life is sometimes difficult, eh?! But I just try to look at the brighter side when the negatives come in. Thanks for liking our family pic. And a BIG thanks for subscribing to my site! It’s an honor for me!

    Hi CAROL, I’m just glad that technology is so advanced now that we can see and talk to our families on the other side of the globe whenever we want too. Thanks for dropping by!

    Like

  6. June 18, 2011 at 2:10 pm

    love the last part..korek! hapiness talaga..super super happiness if nakakuwi kayo ng December no?

    no matter what happen just be thankful..

    Im loving your family..

    Like

    • 7 nelson RN
      June 18, 2011 at 11:11 pm

      Thanks, Shengkay! Hopefully we get to go home this December. Pero contrate muna kami sa pag uwi namin ngaying June… next week na kaya yun😀

      Like

  7. June 20, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    It’s nice to have a reality check every once in a while. Sometimes I feel lost and confused, and I just lie down on my bed and recall the past few days and weeks, assess my mistakes and what I am thankful for, and it makes me feel better.🙂 I bet you’re really excited to be celebrating your birthday here!

    Like

  8. June 21, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    I also love the last equation part kasi nakakarelate din kami ng family ko… the only difference is that girl yung anak namin hehehe! big things or small things,,, we should all be thankful for🙂

    Like

  9. June 26, 2011 at 7:11 pm

    Yan ang mahirap….may sakit ang anak tapos, dahil sa profession mo, kailangan mong iwan ang anak mo at mag-alaga ng ibang may sakit….anyway, andyan naman si Lord…so nothing to worry…nauhaw tuloy ako sa juices nyo hehe.

    Like

  10. June 27, 2011 at 1:52 pm

    I’m just wondering kung sino nag take ng picture nyong tatlo? ang waiter ba? hehehe

    Like


I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts with me here :)

No one person can ever experience all that life has to offer. It is only through sharing - experiences, feelings, insights - that we can hope to grow beyond our own meager lifetime.

Nurses are tough people. But behind great nurses are inspirations to keep them doing what they need to do - TO CARE.

Nurse or non-nurse, please feel free to move around the site. Everybody needs inspirations to be encouraged every now and then.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,307 other followers

***Inspirational quotes are lifted from elsewhere (Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, Instagram). If there are issues regarding copyright, please let me know and I'll take the post down.

Blog Stats

  • 315,606 hits

Please click :)

NEGOSYONG PANG OFWs! Check mo to!

Unified-Products-and-Services-Inc_-or-UPS-for-brevity-sister-company-of-GPRS-Victor-globalpinoy_me-was-established-2011

Archives

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Live Traffic Feed

Proud Member :)

BC_BLOGGERS

DISCLAIMER

Health posts here are the author's opinion and should not be taken as professional advice. It is still best to consult your physician. Posts in this site protect patient confidentiality, so if you have any concerns regarding any of the nursing posts, please send me a message and I will be happy to address them.

