11
Nov
10

Day 6 at Yas Island: DISASTER DRILL

The field tent hospital was said to be fully-operational starting today. There are thousands of people coming into the island today. The practice and qualifying races will start tomorrow, and the concerts will start tomorrow evening. Hotels have started to fill up.

To test the field hospitals’ readiness to receive disaster situations, we made up a scenario with patients coming into the tent entrances all at the same time.

I volunteered to act as one of the four patients, and I got the easiest role – an unconscious motor-vehicular accident patient. I just needed to lie on a stretcher outside the tent, and that’s it. I closed my eyes and waited what will happen next.

Later I felt I was being wheeled into the red zone, which act as the main ER. Before I was transferred to another bed, somebody immobilized my neck with a hard collar. I was shifted to the next bed by I guess 6 people, with somebody supporting my head.

The team leader quickly assessed me, and realizing I was unconscious, he started giving orders. I was intubated, IV cannula and foley’s were inserted, meds given (made up only). Xrays and abdominal ultrasound were done. Head injury with internal bleeding was suspected so they arranged to transfer me to a real hospital. The ambulance was made available at the tent entrance.

Yup, I guess we are ready.

******************************

While I was lying still on the bed, acting like an unconscious head injury patient, I was trying to hear the shouts and calls. I listened to the voices who are giving treatment to me. They were all calm and confident. They were very skilled.

And they are Filipino Nurses.

Proud to be one.

6 Responses to “Day 6 at Yas Island: DISASTER DRILL”


  1. November 11, 2010 at 11:48 pm

    This is wonderful. I love the last 2 sentences.

    Like

  2. 2 josie
    November 12, 2010 at 11:29 pm

    Hi there! I’ve been following up on your daily experiences for the last few days, and I’m sorry that I am only posting something now. I should say that you are very lucky to be part of your team. ButI guess you deserve it because you won’t be chosen to be part of this event if you are not that good.

    I’m enjoying your posts. Keep ’em coming!

    Like

  3. June 20, 2011 at 4:19 pm

    So this why you had a drill pala. 🙂 You’re right, it’s hard to concentrate on who you will attend to first if they come all at the same time. I was assigned once to the ER in a hospital in Tondo, and we were going crazy because the accidents and emergencies were non-stop that time, and people kept pouring in. The staff were busy in performing CPR, and we students were assigned to take on the yellow cases. It’s just crazy!

    Like

  4. June 21, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    ang galing! ang dami nyo pala talagang mga pinoy nurses dyan… keep it up! We are so proud din sa inyo 🙂

    Like

  5. 6 kat
    June 26, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    madami din pala kayo…anyway…wonder lang ako if marunong ka ng magbasa ng letra or writings nila…hehe

    Like


I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts with me here :)

No one person can ever experience all that life has to offer. It is only through sharing - experiences, feelings, insights - that we can hope to grow beyond our own meager lifetime.

Nurses are tough people. But behind great nurses are inspirations to keep them doing what they need to do - TO CARE.

Nurse or non-nurse, please feel free to move around the site. Everybody needs inspirations to be encouraged every now and then.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,332 other followers

***Inspirational quotes are lifted from elsewhere (Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, Instagram). If there are issues regarding copyright, please let me know and I'll take the post down.

Blog Stats

  • 327,178 hits

NEGOSYONG PANG OFWs! Check mo to!

Unified-Products-and-Services-Inc_-or-UPS-for-brevity-sister-company-of-GPRS-Victor-globalpinoy_me-was-established-2011

Archives

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Live Traffic Feed

Proud Member :)

BC_BLOGGERS

DISCLAIMER

Health posts here are the author's opinion and should not be taken as professional advice. It is still best to consult your physician. Posts in this site protect patient confidentiality, so if you have any concerns regarding any of the nursing posts, please send me a message and I will be happy to address them.

