06
Jul
10

An Hour of Your Time

A man came home from work late again, tired and irritated, to find his 5 year old son waiting for him at the door.

“Daddy, may I ask you a question?”

“Yeah, sure, what is it?” replied the man.

“Daddy, how much money do you make an hour?

“That’s none of your business! What makes you ask such a thing?” the man said angrily.

“I just want to know. Please tell me, how much do you make an hour?” pleaded the little boy.

“If you must know, I make $20.00 an hour.”

“Oh,” the little boy replied, head bowed. Looking up, he said, “Daddy, may I borrow $10.00 please?”

The father was furious. “If the only reason you wanted to know how much money I make is just so you can borrow some to buy a silly toy or some other nonsense, then you march yourself straight to your room and go to bed. Think about why you’re being so selfish. I work long, hard hours everyday and don’t have time for such childish games.”

The little boy quietly went to his room and shut the door. The man sat down and started to get even madder about the little boy’s questioning. How dare him ask such questions only to get some money.

After an hour or so, the man had calmed down, and started to think he may have been a little hard on his son. Maybe there was something he really needed to buy with that $10.00, and he really didn’t ask for money very often. The man went to the door of the little boy’s room and opened the door. “Are you asleep son?” he asked.

“No daddy, I’m awake,” replied the boy.

“I’ve been thinking, maybe I was too hard on you earlier,” said the man. “It’s been a long day and I took my aggravation out on you. Here’s that $10.00 you asked for.”

The little boy sat straight up, beaming. “Oh, thank you daddy!” he yelled. Then, reaching under his pillow, he pulled out some more crumpled up bills. The man, seeing that the boy already had money, started to get angry again. The little boy slowly counted out his money, then looked up at the man.

“Why did you want more money if you already had some?” the father grumbled.

“Because I didn’t have enough, but now I do,” the little boy replied.

“Daddy, I have $20.00 now. Can I buy an hour of your time?”

(repost/author unknown)


16 Responses to “An Hour of Your Time”


  1. July 7, 2010 at 1:03 pm

    Ahhh….what a poignant story. Much to think about.

    I stopped by today to leave a comment on your BlogBlast For Peace post in November. I wasn’t sure you’d find it so I’m repeating it here.

    Thank you for blogging for peace in November. It was an awesome day and I am still finding globes. You are #1708 in the Official Peace Globe Gallery at blogblastforpeace.com.
    It will post July 18, 2010.

    Please join us again November 4 for another BlogBlast. There is so much positive energy to be channeled and spread around the world. Thanks for being a large part of the movement.

    Dona nobis pacem,
    Mimi

    Like

  2. July 7, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    Nice story. I got to think of how much time I was wasting doing non-sense, when I could have done something to reach out and help somebody, or check out my family back home.

    Like

  3. 3 caroline
    July 7, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    thanks for sharing! nice one!

    Like

  4. 4 andy
    July 10, 2010 at 7:44 am

    sometimes we wonder if we could only buy time…. and save it as well… to use in the future… i wish…

    Like

  5. 5 travis
    July 10, 2010 at 10:46 am

    a smart boy’s way to prick on your conscience.

    Like

  6. 6 digitalcatharsis
    July 11, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    Hi MIMI, thanks for dropping by. Count me in on the next launch of Blogblast for Peace.

    Hi MARC, thanks! as always!

    Hi CAROLINE, ANDY, TRAVIS, welcome to the page! Thanks for dropping some notes.

    Like

  7. July 13, 2010 at 6:00 am

    FREE HOUSECLEANING, GROCERIES, AND SPA PACKAGES FROM THE MOVIE NANNY MCPHEE RETURNS!

    Stressed-out? Tired? Over-worked? Need a break?

    Get spoiled with great weekly prizes from the major motion picture NANNY MCPHEE RETURNS, opening in theaters August 20!

    It’s easy, fun, and rewarding!

    Sign-up now at http://www.spoilmenanny.com

    Like

  8. 8 john
    July 16, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    … time for some reflections…

    Like

  9. July 22, 2010 at 8:49 pm

    Nice story. I got to think of how much time I was wasting doing non-sense, when I could have done something to reach out and help somebody, or check out my family back home

    Like

  10. 10 nookie
    August 2, 2010 at 6:38 am

    thank you for sharing. nice one.

    Like

  11. June 20, 2011 at 7:20 am

    I keep on hearing this story in our school and it really makes me cry.. even until now.. that’s the lesson for all father’s out there..

    Like

  12. June 20, 2011 at 1:33 pm

    Oh My…naguilty naamn ako..hahaha..Most of my time is blogging..becuase i find some extra money from here for my baby..anyway maliit pa naman si Iris and I spent quialty time with here naman..

    Like

  13. June 21, 2011 at 9:48 pm

    very nice story…. I hope yung mga parents na sobrang busy sa work must reflect on this. Di lang puro work… give time on their family too specially their kids🙂

    Like

  14. June 24, 2011 at 7:43 am

    This is a really common scenario here, lalo na kapag mahirap ang trabaho and the father is trying so hard to make ends meet. Uso din to sa mayayaman, because they got so addicted to money that they fail to realize the more important things in life: family. My dad was once like that, but he decided to retire early so he could look out for me and my three siblings when my mom decided to leave for Canada.

    Like

  15. June 25, 2011 at 10:34 pm

    actually guilty rin ako kagaya ni Mommy Shengkay pero at least sa ngayon di pa nag school ang daughter ko kaya makaka pag spend more time pa ako through blogging hehehe!

    Like

  16. 16 kat
    June 27, 2011 at 7:28 am

    oh my, what a poor boy…nakaka guilty naman…

    Like


I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts with me here :)

No one person can ever experience all that life has to offer. It is only through sharing - experiences, feelings, insights - that we can hope to grow beyond our own meager lifetime.

Nurses are tough people. But behind great nurses are inspirations to keep them doing what they need to do - TO CARE.

Nurse or non-nurse, please feel free to move around the site. Everybody needs inspirations to be encouraged every now and then.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,307 other followers

***Inspirational quotes are lifted from elsewhere (Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, Instagram). If there are issues regarding copyright, please let me know and I'll take the post down.

Blog Stats

  • 315,993 hits

Please click :)

NEGOSYONG PANG OFWs! Check mo to!

Unified-Products-and-Services-Inc_-or-UPS-for-brevity-sister-company-of-GPRS-Victor-globalpinoy_me-was-established-2011

Archives

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Live Traffic Feed

Proud Member :)

BC_BLOGGERS

DISCLAIMER

Health posts here are the author's opinion and should not be taken as professional advice. It is still best to consult your physician. Posts in this site protect patient confidentiality, so if you have any concerns regarding any of the nursing posts, please send me a message and I will be happy to address them.

