26
Oct
09

The Grand Prix Experience: The Arrival

IMG_3332

Me arriving at the lobby of Radisson Hotel

Never in my entire life did I imagine that my being a nurse would bring me to where I am right now. I am now sitting by the window of a 5-star hotel with a spectacular view of the Formula One Grand Prix Race Track and I’m being paid for this. How great can that be?

I came from a busy night shift this morning. Although the shift was supposed to end by 0730am, I left the hospital at 9am because I had to finish my computer documentations. I had a very busy night, with three post op patients that need monitoring, and three other unwell patients – which makes a total of six difficult patients.

I only slept for three hours, then I had to wake up by 1pm to prepare myself for the experience of a lifetime – the chance to be a paramedic for an international event such as the Formula One Grand Prix Race to be held in the Yas Island in Abu Dhabi. The shuttle service picked us up at 330pm from the hospital and arrived in the island by 8pm.

What makes this exciting is that when everyone was so eager to watch the event, I was chosen to be sent here and work as a paramedic for ten days – all expense paid. That means that aside from the money that the Grand Prix officials are going to pay me, they are also housing me in a 5-star hotel! I was also given an all-pass ID – where I can watch the car race for free and a chance to watch the concerts of Beyonce and Aerosmith next week! Wow!

I thought this will happen only in my dreams. But now, after a very long trip from Al Ain to Yas Island, I am here in the hotel, awaiting for the exciting events that are to unfold within the next ten days.

I am so sleepy and tired now. I only had three hours of sleep after the night shift last night, remember? So let me rest for now. I promise to post my experience here in Yas Island so check out my stories in the coming days!

IMG_3341

the view of the race track from my hotel room

IMG_3336IMG_3337

9 Responses to “The Grand Prix Experience: The Arrival”


  1. 1 marlon
    October 27, 2009 at 4:25 am

    it really shocks me how smart you are witnessing how stressful our experience of today’s event…still can manage to post such rewarding adventure of being a NURSE…….

    Like

  2. October 27, 2009 at 12:54 pm

    omg! you’re so lucky! how i wish to be in your shoes!! i envy you so much!!!!!!! wish you luck and i hope that no major disasters happen in the event!

    Like

  3. 3 Steve @ Blu Electronic Cigarettes
    November 17, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    This reads well. Would you ever consider guest posting on one of my blogs? Nicely done, Steven.

    Like

  4. 4 Assisonsest
    November 24, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    Outstanding Article , I considered it marvelous

    I look forward to more innovative postings like this one. Does your website have a subscription I can subscribe to for anymore information from you?

    Like

  5. June 23, 2011 at 12:56 pm

    whoa! youre a one lucky guy indeed! it is really such an awesome experience for you! and you deserved it 🙂

    Like

  6. June 24, 2011 at 6:04 am

    Buti nakakapag post ka pa even if galing ka sa night shift then traveling all the way there. Tawag diyan, super excited di makatulog 🙂

    Like

  7. 7 kat
    June 27, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    dahil dedicated ka sa work mo, ayan pinagpapapala ka……..biro mo, nakarating ka dyan na walang kagastos gastos at ikaw pa binayaran…ang swerte mo.

    Like

  8. June 27, 2011 at 9:05 pm

    haaaayyz! gusto ko rin maka experience ng all expense paid trip! hehehe

    Like

  9. June 27, 2011 at 9:11 pm

    Yan ang sinsabi na fruit of all hard works nels..

    Like


I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts with me here :)

No one person can ever experience all that life has to offer. It is only through sharing - experiences, feelings, insights - that we can hope to grow beyond our own meager lifetime.

Nurses are tough people. But behind great nurses are inspirations to keep them doing what they need to do - TO CARE.

Nurse or non-nurse, please feel free to move around the site. Everybody needs inspirations to be encouraged every now and then.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,327 other followers

***Inspirational quotes are lifted from elsewhere (Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, Instagram). If there are issues regarding copyright, please let me know and I'll take the post down.

Blog Stats

  • 331,328 hits

NEGOSYONG PANG OFWs! Check mo to!

Unified-Products-and-Services-Inc_-or-UPS-for-brevity-sister-company-of-GPRS-Victor-globalpinoy_me-was-established-2011

Archives

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Live Traffic Feed

Proud Member :)

BC_BLOGGERS

DISCLAIMER

Health posts here are the author's opinion and should not be taken as professional advice. It is still best to consult your physician. Posts in this site protect patient confidentiality, so if you have any concerns regarding any of the nursing posts, please send me a message and I will be happy to address them.

