21
Aug
09

Take Hold of Every Moment

clockA friend of mine opened his wife’s  underwear drawer and picked up a silk paper wrapped package:  

“This, – he said – isn’t any ordinary package.”  

He  unwrapped the box and stared at both the silk paper and the box.  

“She got this the first time we went to  New York , 8 or  9 years ago. She has never put it on. Was saving it for a special  occasion. Well, I guess this is it.” He got near the bed and placed  the gift box next to the other clothings he was taking to the funeral  house, his wife had just died. He turned to me and  said:

“Never  save something for a special occasion. Every day in your life is a  special occasion”.

I still think those words  changed my life.

Now I read  more and clean less.

I  sit on the porch without worrying about anything.

I spend more time  with my family, and less at work.

I understood that life  should be a source of experience to be lived up to, not survived  through. I no longer keep anything. I use crystal glasses every day..  I’ll wear new clothes to go to the supermarket, if i feel like  it.

I don’t save my special  perfume for special occasions, I use it whenever I want to. The words  “Someday…” and “One Day…” are fading away from my dictionary. If  it’s worth seeing, listening or doing, I want to see, listen or do it  now. I don’t know what my friend’s wife would have done if she knew she  wouldn’t be there the next morning, this nobody can tell. I think she  might have called her relatives and closest friends.

She might call  old friends to make peace over past quarrels. I’d like to think she  would go out for Chinese, her favorite food. It’s these small things  that I would regret not doing, if I knew my time had  come I would  regret it, because I would no longer see the friends I would meet,  letters… that I wanted to write “One of this  days”.

I would regret  and feel sad, because I didn’t say to my brother and sisters,son and  daughters , not times enough at least, how much I love them.  

Now, I  try not to delay, postpone or keep anything that could bring laughter  and joy into our lives..
And, on each morning, I say to myself that  this could be a special day.

Each day,  each hour, each minute, is special.

(forwarded email)


7 Responses to “Take Hold of Every Moment”


  1. 1 JEMSKI
    August 23, 2009 at 7:00 pm

    true indeed. we never know when everything will be over…

    Like

  2. 2 digitalcatharsis
    August 27, 2009 at 11:50 pm

    Thanks again, Jemski!

    Like

  3. June 23, 2011 at 2:30 pm

    Every day in our life is indeed a special occasion so treasure every moment of it!🙂

    Like

  4. June 23, 2011 at 11:04 pm

    How come there’s always something in your posts that makes me reflect about my life? I didn’t really expect to see this one. I am a girl who loves plans for the future. And I really like the phrase, “SSomeday…” but I guess I have to think twice now before I use it!🙂

    Like

  5. 5 kat
    June 27, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    kakagulat naman…mayroon pa naman akong 2 underwares na sexy na bigay na friend ko dito sa blogosphere, di ko sinuot kasi wala naman akong partner…sabi ko susuotin ko na lang pag may partner na ako…yakkksss…mailabas na nga yon at masuot…

    Like

  6. 6 Ernie Cunningan
    February 8, 2012 at 8:40 pm

    Nicely done my friend

    Like


I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts with me here :)

No one person can ever experience all that life has to offer. It is only through sharing - experiences, feelings, insights - that we can hope to grow beyond our own meager lifetime.

Nurses are tough people. But behind great nurses are inspirations to keep them doing what they need to do - TO CARE.

Nurse or non-nurse, please feel free to move around the site. Everybody needs inspirations to be encouraged every now and then.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,307 other followers

***Inspirational quotes are lifted from elsewhere (Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, Instagram). If there are issues regarding copyright, please let me know and I'll take the post down.

Blog Stats

  • 315,667 hits

Please click :)

NEGOSYONG PANG OFWs! Check mo to!

Unified-Products-and-Services-Inc_-or-UPS-for-brevity-sister-company-of-GPRS-Victor-globalpinoy_me-was-established-2011

Archives

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Live Traffic Feed

Proud Member :)

BC_BLOGGERS

DISCLAIMER

Health posts here are the author's opinion and should not be taken as professional advice. It is still best to consult your physician. Posts in this site protect patient confidentiality, so if you have any concerns regarding any of the nursing posts, please send me a message and I will be happy to address them.

