25
Oct
08

Ma’asalama, Ate Marian!

ate marian

ate marian

I attended Ate Marian’s ma’asalama party (farewell party) held at the Green Mubazarrah grounds last 23rd of October. It was a picnic-type party with barbeque on the side. The weather was just excellent for this outdoor gathering which was attended by most of my colleagues in the surgery unit. It was a great time to relax and be out of our white uniforms and scrubs, and unwind from the busy surgical workplace.

 

I admire Ate Marian’s decision to resign from her work. She decided to leave the nursing profession because she wanted to concentrate on her family, and try to enjoy life while she is still younger. She is only on her late 40s, while I see a lot of nurses her age still work until about late 50s.

 

I think that retiring from work when one is still in great shape and healthy is the best way to enjoy the remaining years of a person’s life. Of course, this would depend on how much a person has saved for his retirement. It could then be deducted that the younger you start saving for retirement, the earlier is the chance that you retire from work early.

 

I don’t see myself working as a nurse on my late 50s. And I don’t want to work, work and work for the rest of my life. That is why I want to work hard now while I am still young and strong. And then enjoy the remaining years with my family while I am still up and about – while I can still go mountain hiking with my son, and run around with grand children.

 

I guess one of my greatest fears is to grow old, weak and bankrupt. It would then be a very unhappy geriatric life. Whoah! Am I starting to feel the pangs of midlife crisis? I think, it’s too early…

 

Thanks, Ate Marian. We could have worked together for a very short period of time, but you have already given me one of the most important life lessons I should remember.

9 Responses to “Ma’asalama, Ate Marian!”


  1. 1 jems
    October 26, 2008 at 2:18 am

    hi nel, musta po… yup, we all look forward to a comfortable retirement and that all depends on what we do when we are younger. dont forget to keep healthy while working hard so you’ll still be in tip-top shape when you get older. cheers!

    Like

  2. October 26, 2008 at 9:15 am

    To admit a fear is a brave declaration. Hats off to you, bro!

    Like

  3. October 27, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    i like people who honor the people around them. this act makes us more human.

    Like

  4. 4 digitalcatharsis
    October 28, 2008 at 8:38 am

    Hi jems, marc and william… Thanks for always dropping by…

    Like

  5. June 22, 2011 at 10:10 am

    tama kaya dapat..ipon..ipon..and ipon..

    Happy for your ate maRIAN

    Like

  6. June 22, 2011 at 6:05 pm

    It is better to start saving at a younger age. Kaso minsan kasi nauunahan ng temptation. She’s such a nice lady, prioritizing her family over money. 🙂

    Like

  7. June 24, 2011 at 8:00 pm

    so happy for your ate marian 🙂 she did the right decision. I’m sure marami na rin syang na-ipon kaya she made the right decision.

    Like

  8. 8 kat
    June 28, 2011 at 4:00 pm

    ang saya naman ng outdoor bbquing nyo…mabuti hindi bawal mag bbq sa labas…

    Like

  9. June 28, 2011 at 5:31 pm

    at ang dami nyong mga pinoy nurses dyan 🙂

    Like


I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts with me here :)

No one person can ever experience all that life has to offer. It is only through sharing - experiences, feelings, insights - that we can hope to grow beyond our own meager lifetime.

Nurses are tough people. But behind great nurses are inspirations to keep them doing what they need to do - TO CARE.

Nurse or non-nurse, please feel free to move around the site. Everybody needs inspirations to be encouraged every now and then.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,327 other followers

***Inspirational quotes are lifted from elsewhere (Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, Instagram). If there are issues regarding copyright, please let me know and I'll take the post down.

Blog Stats

  • 331,297 hits

NEGOSYONG PANG OFWs! Check mo to!

Unified-Products-and-Services-Inc_-or-UPS-for-brevity-sister-company-of-GPRS-Victor-globalpinoy_me-was-established-2011

Archives

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Live Traffic Feed

Proud Member :)

BC_BLOGGERS

DISCLAIMER

Health posts here are the author's opinion and should not be taken as professional advice. It is still best to consult your physician. Posts in this site protect patient confidentiality, so if you have any concerns regarding any of the nursing posts, please send me a message and I will be happy to address them.

