19
Jul
08

IÑIGO’S BORN!

 

I was still sleeping when my wife called me up around 6am from her OB’s clinic in the Philippines. They were 4 hours advance in my home country so it should be 10am there. She wanted me to talk to her doctor so I could ask her some details about the status of her pregnancy. We were expecting her delivery tomorrow and she was due for a check up today with her OB gyn.

 

Dra. Villanueva informed me that it seemed the baby would not fit into her pelvis and a caesarean section might be necessary. They could schedule her up this afternoon, instead of tomorrow, since tomorrow is a Sunday and it would cost us a bit more if it will be done on that day.

 

I agreed on her suggestions, and Didith’s voice over the phone seemed like she was all ready and prepared. She was scheduled for the operation at 3pm (11am UAE). She was admitted after her clinic check up and was prepared for surgery.

 

I tried to go back to sleep since I have had only a few hours of sleep before I got the call. My son entered into my dreams, and I dreamt of having him in my arms. I was with my wife and we were in my parents’ house in Bulacan. Suddenly, may baby disappeared from where I laid him, and that was the time I got awakened. I knew that the subconscious mind works when we sleep, and it has picked up a sense of fear in my inner being. Who would not be? My wife is undergoing a major surgery.

 

30 minutes before the scheduled surgery, I called my wife using my mobile and gave her some moral support. I knew that’s the most I can make being away from her at this time, when most fathers-to-be are at their wife’s bedside.

 

I was working a night shift in the evening, but I knew I would not be able to sleep in this situation. On my next call, my sister told me she was already in the operating room. It felt as if my hands were caught in chains and I could not do much. I am a medical professional but I am away for my wife’s medical situation.

 

Like her surgery last March, I started sending text messages to everybody on my cell’s contacts. My message read: Hi po. My wife Didith is in OR right now undergoing Caesarian Section. Please pray for her. It was overwhelming to receive text replies, and even calls from friends who gave very encouraging words.

 

It was almost 1pm here when I got a call from my sister, and she announced that the baby was out already. He was a healthy 7-pound baby with long limbs as my wife’s! My sister tried to describe my son as I tried to imagine what he looks like. She said he looks like me. He had a fair skin and very red lips. She was standing in front of the nursery window as she vividly described my baby’s features on the phone. I envied her, and wished I was the one looking at my precious child.

 

My wife was still inside OR that time. I wondered if she has seen our baby. I knew she would forget all the pains once she sees our child.

 

My cousin was fast trying to send pictures of my baby. When I opened my yahoo, I saw my son for the first time and it felt the most wonderful of all the emotions. I was teary eyed as I looked each and every pictures of him. He is the small me!

 

My sister later on called again to inform that my wife has come out from surgery and is now resting in her room. It was a big relief knowing my wife is safe, and my baby is out healthy.

 

I will be working tonight, and though I haven’t slept during the day, I knew that I was charged with a powerful energy within my veins. I will be working carrying a different perspective in life.

 

 

 

 

 


7 Responses to “IÑIGO’S BORN!”


  1. July 19, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    Congratulations! I have never known a father who has documented and shared his expectancy period, other than you! I can feel from your writing how happy you are. Life is so good, isn’t it? God is great!!

    Like

  2. July 20, 2008 at 12:07 am

    congrats!Iñigo is such a lucky baby to have courageous and God-fearing parents like you. God bless your new family!

    Like

  3. 3 digitalcatharsis
    July 22, 2008 at 3:33 am

    During the time when my wife was inside the operating room, I texted some friends to request some prayers for her. The replies were overwhelming. Allow me to share them to you…

    PERLITA: She is a fighter, she will make it. We’ll pray for her and the baby. God Bless!

    KAREN: We r 1 with u in praying! God bless!

    LAARNI: Dnt wory, mare wil b ok, just have faith, i know by d grace of God, she’l be ok.

    ROGER: Sure buddy, il pray for her now.

    REMYR: Ok.I will po. Hope everything will be alright…:)

    ROGER (ksa): Yes my fren i will.

    JAKILIN: Dnt wori…God will take care of them…

    MANNY: Dnt wori, im sure evrythng wl b fine,, cngratulation in advance, and sarap mging daddy! Yahooo!

    PITS: Tlg! NAKS nman! Cge, pagdadasal ko tlg. cge TATAY BOTBOT!

    MIKE: Dont wory nelson, hindi sya pababayaan nung nsa TAAS. sama sama tau magpray para sa safety nilang mag ina. Hindi pa man, congratulations na in advance. Ddy kna.

    Lakasan mo loob mo nelson, things will be fine. Mahirap lang talaga kasi manganganak sya ng nandito ka. Im sure na di sya pbbyaan ng family nyo.

    Like

  4. June 22, 2011 at 5:31 pm

    You must have been worrying too much about them that you have dreamt about Inigo that time. They’re so lucky to have you!

    Like

  5. June 24, 2011 at 10:18 pm

    Oh! how sweet… i know the feeling na wala ka sa tabi ng iyong minamahal.. salamat sa teknolohiya at para rin kayong malapit sa isa’t isa🙂

    Like

  6. 6 kat
    June 28, 2011 at 10:06 am

    sana may nagvi-video sa’yo habang binabasa mo o tiningnan ang picture ni Inigo…kasi feel na feel ko talaga ang tuwang nararamdaman mo kahit na nasa malayo ka………salamat talga sa technology….

    Like

  7. June 28, 2011 at 7:06 pm

    Just asking if wala pa po ba kayong planong sundan c Inigo? hehehe!

    Like


I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts with me here :)

No one person can ever experience all that life has to offer. It is only through sharing - experiences, feelings, insights - that we can hope to grow beyond our own meager lifetime.

Nurses are tough people. But behind great nurses are inspirations to keep them doing what they need to do - TO CARE.

Nurse or non-nurse, please feel free to move around the site. Everybody needs inspirations to be encouraged every now and then.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,307 other followers

***Inspirational quotes are lifted from elsewhere (Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, Instagram). If there are issues regarding copyright, please let me know and I'll take the post down.

Blog Stats

  • 315,667 hits

Please click :)

NEGOSYONG PANG OFWs! Check mo to!

Unified-Products-and-Services-Inc_-or-UPS-for-brevity-sister-company-of-GPRS-Victor-globalpinoy_me-was-established-2011

Archives

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Live Traffic Feed

Proud Member :)

BC_BLOGGERS

DISCLAIMER

Health posts here are the author's opinion and should not be taken as professional advice. It is still best to consult your physician. Posts in this site protect patient confidentiality, so if you have any concerns regarding any of the nursing posts, please send me a message and I will be happy to address them.

