26
Jun
08

Bday Dinner Preps

It is 530pm and I am still waiting for my guests to come in. I have prepared dinner for my newly-found friends here in UAE. My birthday is actually on the 28th, but I will be working on a night shift on that day so it’s impossible to hold it on the actual day.

 

My preparations started about a week when I started buying stuffs for this evening’s affair. Whenever I did my grocery, I include bits and pieces for my planned dinner. I have already bought some canned goods, pastas, paper plates, spoons, forks, cups etc etc. It’s better than doing the shopping in one time when it will be heavier to carry all the plastic bags.

 

The last major shopping was last night at Carrefour. I bought the last items I needed for tonight – chicken drumsticks, rice, and drinks.

 

I started cooking this morning. I prepared the fruit salad first since I need to chill it the whole day, so that it will be cold and ready by evening.

 

I had limited casseroles so I had to really plan my cooking. I cooked the pasta for the spaghetti, and used the same casserole for the spag sauce. Remyr came in around lunch time and helped me with the chopping of vegetables. After cooking the veggie dish, we had the spaghetti for lunch. Remyr had to leave after because he needed to sleep in preparation for his night duty in the evening. He will actually be missing tonight’s event,

 

Karen came in around 3pm and helped me fry the chicken drumsticks after rolling them in a breaded mix. She left later to go to the gym, and promised to come back for dinner. Meanwhile, I cooked rice while starting to clean out the place. I brushed the living room carpet, and scrubbed the bathroom ceramics.

 

I felt the food might not be enough so I called KFC to post an order for a bucket of chicken. The delivery man came in few minutes later with the chicken, pepsi, coleslaw, fries and bread.

 

I found out from a text message that my wife is also having a party back home in the Philippines. Her officemates threw in a surprise baby shower party for her. She received lots of baby gifts, she mentioned. Wow, talk about simultaneous parties…

 

I took a quick shower after that, and started preparing myself for my night.

 

I think everything has been prepared. And now, it’s just the guests that are missing…

 


4 Responses to “Bday Dinner Preps”


  1. June 22, 2011 at 4:36 am

    You can really manage a lot! Talk about time management, you cleaned the house and prepared your birthday meals in one day! But friends do make evrything better. Well, at least now that you’re celebrating here, you won’t be alone doing those.

    I once celebrated my birthday without my family too, because my parents were out of town back then and I am in QC renting out near the university. It’s a bit sad because I was so used to celebrating with them, but my friends made sure everything was set and we had a lot of fun during the party.

    Like

  2. June 24, 2011 at 10:38 pm

    wow! bonggang handaan! I’m sure ngayong birthday mo dito sa Pinas super “bonggacious” rin! Happy Birthday Sir Nelson!🙂

    Like

  3. 3 kat
    June 28, 2011 at 8:41 am

    ang galing mong mag manage ng time…parang relax-relax ka sa preparations mo..tsaka, okay din yang mga friends mo, kasi tumutulong sila….

    By the way, today is exactly your birthday, so HAPPY, HAPPY BIRTHDAY sa yo. Alam kong marami ka ng blessings and achievements sa buhay, ang wish ko na lang ay good health sa’yo at sa family mo. Happy Birthday again Bobot hehe

    Like

  4. June 28, 2011 at 7:53 pm

    Happy Birthday ulit Sir Nelson! God bless you more abundantly!🙂

    Like


I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts with me here :)

No one person can ever experience all that life has to offer. It is only through sharing - experiences, feelings, insights - that we can hope to grow beyond our own meager lifetime.

Nurses are tough people. But behind great nurses are inspirations to keep them doing what they need to do - TO CARE.

Nurse or non-nurse, please feel free to move around the site. Everybody needs inspirations to be encouraged every now and then.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,307 other followers

***Inspirational quotes are lifted from elsewhere (Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, Instagram). If there are issues regarding copyright, please let me know and I'll take the post down.

Blog Stats

  • 315,972 hits

Please click :)

NEGOSYONG PANG OFWs! Check mo to!

Unified-Products-and-Services-Inc_-or-UPS-for-brevity-sister-company-of-GPRS-Victor-globalpinoy_me-was-established-2011

Archives

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Live Traffic Feed

Proud Member :)

BC_BLOGGERS

DISCLAIMER

Health posts here are the author's opinion and should not be taken as professional advice. It is still best to consult your physician. Posts in this site protect patient confidentiality, so if you have any concerns regarding any of the nursing posts, please send me a message and I will be happy to address them.

