17
Jun
08

More Relaxed

StethoscopeThe day started the same as yesterday. It was still difficult getting up in the bed, but when I realized that I was getting late, I hurried up and started cooking breakfast and for my packed lunch. The shuttle did not come again in the morning so I had to walk again going to the hospital.

 

I was more relaxed in the unit today, than yesterday. I guess it’s because I was more familiar now with the things that are going on inside the ward. I have more or less an idea of how it is to work in the surgery unit.

 

My preceptor and I had the same patients as yesterday, except for two. We had six patients today. I still had the three tumor guys: one with anal tumor, another with pelvic sarcoma, and the last with multiple myeloma. The bedridden old man is still with us. My new patients included an old man who was electively admitted for extracapsular cataract extraction tomorrow, and a 16-year old boy who went for surgery in the afternoon for Removal of Intermedullary Nailing of Right Tibia.

 

I had some exciting parts of the day. I was able to get the parcel which my wife sent me last week. I was also able to book myself for my first vacation – 40 days leave from end of January to the first week of March. Gosh, I can’t wait till January! At least I have something to look forward to.

 

I got home a quarter before eight in the evening. I was so exhausted that when I got inside my flat, I just sat on my couch for a long time staring blankly on the wall, still on my uniform. I think my mind was asking me what the hell am I doing here.

 

Oh yeah, I forgot, I am here for the money!

 

Roger buzzed and interrupted my daydreaming. Maybe he sensed I needed somebody to talk to. We chatted a lot of things about how the day treated us.

 

I was so tired to be able to cook dinner so I just grabbed anything in the fridge: a bar of chocolate, a banana, and a glass of coke.

3 Responses to “More Relaxed”


  1. June 22, 2011 at 5:00 am

    Having something to look forward to always makes me feel better whenever I am depressed. It’s hard to focus on things when you are sad about something. 🙂

    Like

  2. June 25, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    whoa! ang sarap naman ng dinner mo 😉

    Like

  3. 3 kat
    June 28, 2011 at 7:41 am

    dinner mo na yon?? pag ang chocolate at coke pinagsabay ko…asahan mo, favorite place ko ang toilet bowl hahahaha….anyway, i wonder if you had a chance to call the wife after your arrival there kasi di mo namention sa mga previous posts mo………ngayon pa lang sya nabanggit hehehehe.

    Like


I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts with me here :)

No one person can ever experience all that life has to offer. It is only through sharing - experiences, feelings, insights - that we can hope to grow beyond our own meager lifetime.

Nurses are tough people. But behind great nurses are inspirations to keep them doing what they need to do - TO CARE.

Nurse or non-nurse, please feel free to move around the site. Everybody needs inspirations to be encouraged every now and then.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,332 other followers

***Inspirational quotes are lifted from elsewhere (Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, Instagram). If there are issues regarding copyright, please let me know and I'll take the post down.

Blog Stats

  • 327,178 hits

NEGOSYONG PANG OFWs! Check mo to!

Unified-Products-and-Services-Inc_-or-UPS-for-brevity-sister-company-of-GPRS-Victor-globalpinoy_me-was-established-2011

Archives

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Live Traffic Feed

Proud Member :)

BC_BLOGGERS

DISCLAIMER

Health posts here are the author's opinion and should not be taken as professional advice. It is still best to consult your physician. Posts in this site protect patient confidentiality, so if you have any concerns regarding any of the nursing posts, please send me a message and I will be happy to address them.

