04
Jun
08

The Arrival

Image159The plane landed in Dubai about 5am (9am Manila Time). There were 22 others in the plane who would join me in Tawam Hospital. And so the group gathered inside the arrival area. There were three other guys in the group – Roger, Remyr and Miller.

 

We got lost at some point trying to find where to pick our original visas up (there’s a visa collection area in the airport for people who are going to work there. The visa is not readily available in the passport). After obtaining our visas, we had our eyes scan – that’s their version of our fingerprint! High tech!

 

After that, we went to the immigrations area, then later collected our luggages at the baggage collection area. The Tawam representative was at the arrivals area waiting for us. He started checking us one by one with the list that he was holding. After that, we were made to board a shuttle.

 

It was about a two hour trip from Dubai to Al Ain. There was a quick stop over in the middle where we were asked to pick anything we want from a small store. I just got a bottle of water and a can of coke. That was all I need so far.

 

Looking from the bus window, I saw the place as something like the one I left behind in Saudi. The houses were built the same. The small stores were the same. There were dates everywhere.

 

When we arrived in the housing compound, each of us were brought one by one to each of our flats. When I was brought in to my own flat, I was just amazed by how big my place will be! It was like a condo unit, fully furnished! Image167

 

The living room is complete with couches, center tables, two lamp shades, a computer table, and a shelf. At the end of the room, there was a six-seater dining table. There was a veranda overlooking at the Bermuda-covered lot fronting our building.

 

The kitchen was complete with amenities also! There was a huge fridge and a four-burner electric stove. The kitchen cabinets were very functional. We had, as gifts, boxes of kitchen utensils such as dining sets, spoons, forks, knives, can opener. The fridge has some food also!

 

My bedroom was just as astonishing! I have a queen size bed complete with linens and comforters. There were 2 big clothes cabinet, a closet, a bedside table with a lampshade, and a big tokador with a big mirror. Wow, what can I ask for?

 

I haven’t mentioned the bathroom, have I? The water heater and the washing machine is there. There was a nicely shaped mirror at the top of the sink. And there was a bath tub that can accommodate at least three persons!

 

I started unpacking and tried fixing all the things that I have in my luggage to the cabinets. I was just amazed by how the Tawam staff prepared everything for our arrival.

 

When all the excitement has gone, I felt all the tiredness on my shoulder, and started feeling empty. Yup, I have a pretty big place all for my self. But I am alone.

 


3 Responses to “The Arrival”


  1. June 22, 2011 at 5:30 am

    I like reading blog posts recounting every detail of their travels kasi parang nakapagtravel na din ako kapag ganyan. I can imagine how your flat looks like. Nakakatuwa naman, free ba yung lodging niyo Sir Nelson?

    Like

  2. June 25, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    I could just imagine how nice and comfy your bedroom is!🙂

    Like

  3. 3 kat
    June 28, 2011 at 6:22 am

    wow! ang ganda naman pala ng accommodation nila sa inyo……..naimagine ko yong place mo, si misis at inigo lang ang kulang dyan noon hehehe

    Like


I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts with me here :)

No one person can ever experience all that life has to offer. It is only through sharing - experiences, feelings, insights - that we can hope to grow beyond our own meager lifetime.

Nurses are tough people. But behind great nurses are inspirations to keep them doing what they need to do - TO CARE.

Nurse or non-nurse, please feel free to move around the site. Everybody needs inspirations to be encouraged every now and then.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,307 other followers

***Inspirational quotes are lifted from elsewhere (Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, Instagram). If there are issues regarding copyright, please let me know and I'll take the post down.

Blog Stats

  • 315,972 hits

Please click :)

NEGOSYONG PANG OFWs! Check mo to!

Unified-Products-and-Services-Inc_-or-UPS-for-brevity-sister-company-of-GPRS-Victor-globalpinoy_me-was-established-2011

Archives

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Live Traffic Feed

Proud Member :)

BC_BLOGGERS

DISCLAIMER

Health posts here are the author's opinion and should not be taken as professional advice. It is still best to consult your physician. Posts in this site protect patient confidentiality, so if you have any concerns regarding any of the nursing posts, please send me a message and I will be happy to address them.

