27
May
08

Wally, The Gray Stuffed Mouse

17022008024 Dear Inigo,

 

Mom and I bought something for you two months ago. We actually turned Megamall upside down just to find this perfect gift for you. It wasn’t a big thing. It’s a stuffed animal we named Wally. He is a smiling gray mouse. We chose that kind of animal because you will be born in this year of the rat. His face is so pleasant, we actually smile and think of you and wish that you will like our very first gift to you.

 

We thought it would be nice if you get your first toy from us. I am sure our friends and relatives will be bringing you lots of toys when you come out. And so we had to buy early in order to beat them. I have actually written this story about Wally the day after we bought him, but i did not post it for some personal reasons.

 

There is something I want to tell you, Inigo. There is something important you need to know because I don’t want you to find this out later, and you will get mad with me. That is something I don’t want you to feel towards your father.

 

I may not be around on your big day. When you come out in July, and decide to join us in our world, you might not see your daddy amongst the first faces who will welcome you in the outside world.

 

I have taken a job offer to work abroad, an opportunity I have been eyeing since last year. I will work in a very good hospital, and the benefits are great. I passed the exams and interviews and I am just waiting for the final paper works. I thought your mommy could follow me there as soon as possible and she can deliver you there. But the plan did not materialize soon enough and now your mommy’s tummy is bigger and she will not be allowed anymore to board the plane. I also have to finish my first three months of probation there, before she can follow. So by computing the months, it has become definite that you will have to be born here. 

 

I will already be away when you will be born, Inigo. And it hurts a lot to me that I will not be around when you come out. They said that for first-time fathers, the unique feeling of seeing, touching and holding your baby for the first time is a 7th heaven. And it seems I won’t be experiencing that. It seems I will be missing that part of my fatherhood.

 

I am so sorry for this Inigo and I hope you will understand me in the future. I needed to grab this job opportunity because the package offer was one of the best deals I had, and I can’t afford to lose this one. I might not get it back. A lot of applicants did not make it in and I was very lucky to pass the very tight screening procedure and be chosen to work there.

 

I look at the practical side of life, and choose to be more realistic, than to be fuzzy over the day of your birth. Please don’t think that I don’t consider your day as special. The day that you will come out will be one of the most important days of my being a father. But I need to look beyond that date. I need to realize that after that great day, your needs will be more. I need to sacrifice that shining “father moment” of being beside you when you are born.

 

I look at your future, and I will not compromise that for my selfish feelings. I want the best for you, and I can do that if I will take this rare opportunity of working in that hospital.

 

I have been in and out of the country for seven years, but I have to admit that this time, when I have to leave the country again, will be the most difficult for me. And that is because of you and your mom. It is too painful for me to leave you both at this time.

 

Don’t worry, Inigo. My being away from you will just be temporary. When you are old enough to ride a plane, your mom will take you and bring you to where I will be working. Together, we will become a whole family again. And I promise to make it up to you.

 

And so now, when I try to speak next to your mommy’s tummy, try to remember my voice so you can recognize it when we see each other in another place. I will be waiting for you there. And don’t worry about not being able to recognize my face – I’ll be the one holding a gray stuffed mouse named Wally.

 

Love,

Dad

15 Responses to “Wally, The Gray Stuffed Mouse”


  1. May 27, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    medyo nalungkot naman ako dito sa posting mo. but i salute you for doing this sacrifice for your family. i know it a very tough decision to make and i pray that u get reunited with your family the soonest possible time. all the best to your new job! keep in touch, pre!

    Like

  2. May 27, 2008 at 6:32 pm

    let me also add that this is another well-written post…

    Like

  3. May 29, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    i was touched by your post dude. i pray that your family joins you the soonest possible time to UAE.

    Like

  4. May 29, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    I was teary-eyed reading your blog. I know how difficult it is to leave your family at this time when your wife is pregnant and your first baby is due very soon. Kakarelate ako sa yo… huhuhuhu… I’m sure Inigo will understand this and I am sure he will be very proud to have you as his father. Good luck to your new job!

    Like

  5. May 30, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    hi bro! just got online today after more than a week in hiatus. chix is already here kahapon pa. i just texted didith.
    i can feel ur pain, hirap talaga malayo sa family. Even my hubby until now it’s painful for him to stay in Oz. Inigo will understand for sure and he’s very lucky to have very responsible parents.

    Like

  6. May 30, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    hi nelson, it’s been awhile since I last visited your site. I’ve been away because I attended a seminar in Baguio City. I was just away for nine days and deep inside I was miserable because I missed my husband and my kids so much and to think that Manila is just 1 hour and 45 minutes form Davao City and Baguio is just five or six hours away. That’s why I feel your pain of being separated from your wife and inigo. But look at the brighter side, the world is getting smaller thanks to internet and cellphone, I am sure you are not too far away from them. GOd bless you on your life in UAE and I am sure Inigo will be very proud to have you as a father.

    Like

  7. 7 Papa Birth
    June 2, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    Bro, goodluck sa new job mo abroad. I hope in the future, magkasama-sama kayo ulit nina Didith at Inigo para maibsan ang lungkot mo.

    Sana hindi mawawala itong pagsulat mo sa Blog kapag nag-start ka na sa new job mo abroad ha. Tiyak na madaming bumabasa ng Blog mo, iyon nga lang karamihan sa bumabasa hindi talaga nagpaparamdam at nag-iiwan ng messages.

    Keep up the good work bro and GODLESS!

    Regards,
    Papa Birth

    Like

  8. 8 diego
    June 9, 2008 at 10:30 pm

    hi pre! im sorry that i havent visited your site for a while…congratulations on your job. looking at the brighter side of things, you are lucky that you are given opportunities such as this. i am sure that the sacrifices that you make for your family will pay off in the future.

    Like

  9. 9 neil patrick
    June 13, 2008 at 12:57 am

    It’s so difficult to be away from one’s family. I know that from experience. Don’t worry about your baby. I’m sure your wife will take good care of her.

    Like

  10. 10 jemski
    June 15, 2008 at 12:11 am

    Hi Nelson! I feel for your wife coz I had a similar situation before when my husband has to leave me while I was pregnant. I felt so down but then I realized later on that God has a purpose for everything and I knew that my better half was the most responsible person I have met in my life. God bless you always!

    Like

  11. June 15, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    happy father’s day, bro!

    Like

  12. June 18, 2008 at 5:56 am

    this post is so touching. any parent will come up with the same decision because when you become parent, it is always the future of the family especially the children that you prioritize, we have to think long term and weigh all options. I’m certain Inigo will understand your decision, afterall, it’s for his own good too.

    Like

  13. June 22, 2011 at 4:17 am

    For showing the love you have for your family, you are receiving a lot of blessings. Inigo is now 3years and 5 months right? And he’s still growing up to be a happy child! He’s really lucky to have parents like you and your wife.

    Like

  14. June 25, 2011 at 8:48 pm

    ohhhh…how sweet! I’m sure when Inigo grows up and will able to read your post, he would get teary eyed too 🙂

    Like

  15. 15 kat
    June 28, 2011 at 5:51 am

    ay cute message from a loving dad….tago mo rin to ha at ipabasa kay Inigo pag laki nya…am sure mafe-feel nya lalo ang love mo sa kanya…

    Like


I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts with me here :)

No one person can ever experience all that life has to offer. It is only through sharing - experiences, feelings, insights - that we can hope to grow beyond our own meager lifetime.

Nurses are tough people. But behind great nurses are inspirations to keep them doing what they need to do - TO CARE.

Nurse or non-nurse, please feel free to move around the site. Everybody needs inspirations to be encouraged every now and then.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,331 other followers

***Inspirational quotes are lifted from elsewhere (Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, Instagram). If there are issues regarding copyright, please let me know and I'll take the post down.

Blog Stats

  • 328,433 hits

NEGOSYONG PANG OFWs! Check mo to!

Unified-Products-and-Services-Inc_-or-UPS-for-brevity-sister-company-of-GPRS-Victor-globalpinoy_me-was-established-2011

Archives

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Live Traffic Feed

Proud Member :)

BC_BLOGGERS

DISCLAIMER

Health posts here are the author's opinion and should not be taken as professional advice. It is still best to consult your physician. Posts in this site protect patient confidentiality, so if you have any concerns regarding any of the nursing posts, please send me a message and I will be happy to address them.

