19
May
08

The Year That Was

AirplanedepartingLast May 2007, I arrived in the Philippines after resigning from my work in the Middle East. I spent seven long years there. I visited my motherland two to three times a year though, but I usually stayed only for about a month. Deciding to come home and stay here for a while was a major decision then. I knew I will be facing another chapter in my life. 

Looking back, I realized I have been here in the country for more than a year now. This is my longest 365 days in seven years. And I can say, I have done a lot more in my life than when I was abroad.
 After arriving in the country last year, Didith and I started preparing for our planned wedding. We only had about a month until the wedding date, but the vigorous preparations paid off. We were very much satisfied with how the wedding turned out. It was one of the grandest day in my life. 

 We moved to our new home in AntipoloCity and started living a happy married life. We bought a lot of new furniture and made a lot of fixtures for our love nest. 

 Shortly after the wedding, I was called to start teaching in the nursing school where I graduated from. Being a clinical instructor was a new career for me. I initially thought I am not the teacher-type. But then, after taking the job, I started to like it, and found teaching in the hospital setting a very rewarding job. I worked in different hospitals in Bulacan and followed up third and fourth year nursing students who were taking up their clinical affiliations.

 Another new twist in my nursing profession was when I got a post for being a Nurse Lecturer for students who were reviewing for the local board exams. I also thought that public speaking is not my cup of tea. But after speaking with audiences of about 200, I was able to contain my stage fright. I have composed my self-confidence. Another good thing about this was that I was able to travel to different provinces for free.

 I started my website in October. Blogging was a whole new idea to me. It made me discover a lot of things about myself and the people around me. It has become an outlet for my inner self. Aside from this blog, I am also managing two other blogsites – iñigo’s first journal and nelsondidith.com.

 20112007012The news that my wife was conceiving our first baby made November my best month of the year. Realizing that I was going to be a father soon gave a new meaning to my existence. I knew I was evolving to a new and more mature individual. The plans I had set for my self has become plans I had set for my new family.

December was a great time for me. It was my first Christmas in the Philippines for several years and my first Christmas with my new family. I attended some parties and also helped organized one of the best Bautista clan reunions. 

My wife was operated on her ovaries while carrying our baby last March. It was good to be at her side during these times. She recovered well and has gone back to work.

 When I resigned from my work in the Middle East last year, I had strange thoughts of how it will be like to work and live again in the Philippines. But now, I would say, I have no regrets. The last twelve months of my life has been one of the best years in my life. It is this year when I finally grew up.
Sad to say, I am leaving again very soon. It is a difficult decision but I know that this is for the best interest of my family. Leaving has become more difficult after experiencing the best timesof  my life here in the country. But then, life has to go on. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


12 Responses to “The Year That Was”


  1. May 29, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    it is so nice of you to share what has happened in your life for the past year. i think you really made a good decision when u left us here in saudi, coz you have achieved a lot in your personal life. nice people like you are trully blessed. more best times ahead!

    Like

  2. June 15, 2008 at 12:13 am

    thanks for sharing. your life is inspiring.

    Like

  3. June 15, 2008 at 12:55 am

    You are a truly blessed person. Continue striving for the best. The fruits of your labor will come next. Good luck in your new nursing job!

    Like

  4. 4 Demetrice Walman
    June 9, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    Thanks for the post I actually learned something from it. Very good content on this site Always looking forward to new post.

    Like

  5. June 22, 2011 at 4:20 am

    Self-reflection is a great way to relax and a nice place to start when making goals for the next year. A lot of times it feels really good reading these kinds of stories. This is one of the reasons why I hate reading the newspaper or watching the news. Everythings about corruption, tragedies, accidents and crimes. But you prove that even in this time when people have sinned a lot, there’s always a family full of love out there.🙂

    Like

  6. June 25, 2011 at 8:45 pm

    It was the year where God showered you with so much blessings…and He still continue doing it until today!🙂

    Like

  7. 7 kat
    June 28, 2011 at 5:42 am

    well, your wife is just so lucky because she found a very responsible man, a responsible father and a husband as well…You left them for their future, and look at you now…happily together na….

    Like

  8. 8 Jacinta Draves
    July 7, 2011 at 11:48 pm

    It is appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I want to suggest you some interesting things or suggestions. Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article. I desire to read more things about it!

    Like

  9. 9 Hermes Outlet
    July 16, 2011 at 2:22 pm

    Hello my loved one! I want to state that this particular post is awesome, great written and will include just about all essential infos. I?|d like to seem extra articles like this .

    Like

  10. 10 electroniccigarettes
    July 19, 2011 at 2:04 am

    I love your digitalcatharsis.wordpress.com

    Like

  11. 11 Tory Burch flip flops Reviews
    July 22, 2011 at 6:21 pm

    How come truth be told there zero much more these web sites? Your content are usually best and obtain to themes or templates, which can be not able to continually be acknowledged all over the place. Make sure you continue penning this kind of wonderful components, maybe it’s completely essential. The net could be filled with amazing waste, since A single will probably be thrilled whenever you understand anything. Precisely

    Like

  12. 12 neeraj gupta
    June 25, 2015 at 3:42 am

    hii my crp level is increased to 44 and sgot 194 n sgpt 103 but rest of my all test are normal so plz proscribe me medicine…..in meanwhile on sudden 104 fever occurs with shivering .I m taking hepraxia 300 bd

    Like


I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts with me here :)

No one person can ever experience all that life has to offer. It is only through sharing - experiences, feelings, insights - that we can hope to grow beyond our own meager lifetime.

Nurses are tough people. But behind great nurses are inspirations to keep them doing what they need to do - TO CARE.

Nurse or non-nurse, please feel free to move around the site. Everybody needs inspirations to be encouraged every now and then.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,307 other followers

***Inspirational quotes are lifted from elsewhere (Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, Instagram). If there are issues regarding copyright, please let me know and I'll take the post down.

Blog Stats

  • 315,993 hits

Please click :)

NEGOSYONG PANG OFWs! Check mo to!

Unified-Products-and-Services-Inc_-or-UPS-for-brevity-sister-company-of-GPRS-Victor-globalpinoy_me-was-established-2011

Archives

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Live Traffic Feed

Proud Member :)

BC_BLOGGERS

DISCLAIMER

Health posts here are the author's opinion and should not be taken as professional advice. It is still best to consult your physician. Posts in this site protect patient confidentiality, so if you have any concerns regarding any of the nursing posts, please send me a message and I will be happy to address them.

