10
May
08

What can I give my Nanay?

What can I give my nanay who’s given me so much?

 

I know there’s been a lot

of give-and-take

in our relationship.

Mostly it’s been you giving

and me taking

Now that I’m grown, though,

I’m trying to do

my share of the giving.

It’s harder than I thought

it would be –

 

What do you give someone

who has given you everything?

Maybe the same things you gave me.

A hand to hold.

A hug whenever you need one.

A heart that knows

what you mean without

you having to say a word.

Whatever you need – it’s all yours.

Because you dedicated your life to me,

I return back by making sure

I will always be there for you, too.

 

Happy Mother’s Day po.

 

 

**************************

 There are four mothers in my life today.

 

1.  MY NANAY – My biological nanay never got tired taking care of me and my siblings. When I was with her and was just growing up, I took for granted the things that she did for us. But working abroad and away from home made me realize how much my mother has been doing for us to live a comfortable life. To her I owe the biggest part of who I am today.

 

2.  NANAY REMY – Nanay Remy is my mother-in-law. I can see from my wife and my wife’s siblings that they were all taken cared of. I am proud to have her as a new parent.

 

3.  MA’AM O. – Ma’am O was my college English professor who has now become a friend and a second mother. She has inspired me with her words of wisdom. She is somebody I will never forget.

 

4.  MY WIFE – This will be the first and only mother’s day when she is already a mother, but she cannot see her child yet. But I can already see how she takes the role of a mother while nurturing our baby inside her womb. I am so happy knowing Inigo will be well-taken cared of. I am so glad to have her as my son’s mother.

 

I am so blessed to have them in my life.

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mothers out there.

9 Responses to “What can I give my Nanay?”


  1. May 11, 2008 at 9:18 am

    yup we are so lucky indeed to have loving and caring mothers. not everyone enjoy this blessing in life. im proud to have a mother who also gave her everything to me. happy mothers day to your wife.

    Like

  2. May 11, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    Wow, mga women of substance…hehe. Nice post. I am sure your mothers are so lucky,too to have a son like you. Happy mothers day to your mom and wife.

    Like

  3. 4 digitalcatharsis
    May 15, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    thanks marc, william and marcus – i hope your mothers had great mothers day. thanks for always dropping by.

    Like

  4. 5 diego
    May 16, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    my comment is rather late, but i am writing it nways… this is a very nice post. to honor the people around you is a very humble way of thanking them. i am sure they are also proud to have you.

    Like

  5. June 22, 2011 at 4:29 am

    I like it when people write poetry for their loved ones. I’m not a gift person, so I appreciate sentimental and personalized things more than store-bought ones. I can even settle for no gift at all. But receiving letters is something I really like, because I can read them again and again and have memories flooding to me.

    You’re lucky to have these wonderful women in your life. Giving them this honor is worth a lot more than expensive gifts.

    Like

  6. June 25, 2011 at 4:10 am

    ay,u made me teary-eyed in this post naman…i missed my mom. i have my family of my own now with 3 kids, pero still, i wished my mom (dad,too) could be here watching their apos…pero wala na sila…kaya lucky are those whose parents are still with them…shower them with love….

    Like

  7. June 25, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    you are so blessed in having them! Kudos to all the loving women in your life 🙂

    Like

  8. 9 kat
    June 28, 2011 at 5:18 am

    ang gaganda ng mga mothers sa buhay mo…yong wife at MIL mo magkamukha…hehehe so isipin mo na lang na pag matanda na kayo, yan ang hitsura ni Didith hehehe

    Like


I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts with me here :)

No one person can ever experience all that life has to offer. It is only through sharing - experiences, feelings, insights - that we can hope to grow beyond our own meager lifetime.

Nurses are tough people. But behind great nurses are inspirations to keep them doing what they need to do - TO CARE.

Nurse or non-nurse, please feel free to move around the site. Everybody needs inspirations to be encouraged every now and then.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,331 other followers

***Inspirational quotes are lifted from elsewhere (Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, Instagram). If there are issues regarding copyright, please let me know and I'll take the post down.

Blog Stats

  • 328,305 hits

NEGOSYONG PANG OFWs! Check mo to!

Unified-Products-and-Services-Inc_-or-UPS-for-brevity-sister-company-of-GPRS-Victor-globalpinoy_me-was-established-2011

Archives

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Live Traffic Feed

Proud Member :)

BC_BLOGGERS

DISCLAIMER

Health posts here are the author's opinion and should not be taken as professional advice. It is still best to consult your physician. Posts in this site protect patient confidentiality, so if you have any concerns regarding any of the nursing posts, please send me a message and I will be happy to address them.

