30
Mar
08

A Day of Fears

 17 March 2008 – Our day started early when my wife was awakened by severe abdominal pains. It was almost 3am when she woke me up, as she was grimacing in pain. She was clutching the right side of her tummy, teary eyed, as if something was going so bad inside.

 

I tried to observe how the pain was developing. This was the third time that she experienced this. The first one was about a month ago, but she was relieved after going to the bathroom. The second time was yesterday, while we were attending Palm Sunday Mass. She was already feeling uneasy by middle of the holy mass, so we decided to immediately go home after the ceremonies, instead of shopping for groceries as previously planned. But when we reached home, the pain disappeared.

 

So now that she was feeling the same again, I thought that the pain will subside later, or will be relieved by going to the bathroom, or by simply resting. But I was wrong. It was almost dawn and her agony was even increasing. I tried hot and cold compresses but that did not help much. None of my approach-to-pain nursing skills were working.

 

I feared it was acute appendicitis, because of the location of the pain. The other signs and symptoms were also indicative of such. But what I feared more was about the safety of my wife carrying our baby – that something bad was going on inside, and that an operation might be necessary.

 

I decided to bring her to the hospital. The nearest was The Medical City, but we feared of the astronomic costs of being hospitalized there, so we both agreed to go home to Bulacan, where her OB holds her clinic.

 

I feared that the travel would be too much for her. But Didith was a strong woman. She braved traveling from Ortigas to Bulacan. She had episodes of nausea and vomiting during the trip but we made it safely to Sacred Heart Hospital in Malolos.

 

The E.R. doctor diagnosed her with acute appendicitis, after reviewing her blood and urine tests. She needed immediate surgery before the appendix bursts and poisons our baby. Her OB was contacted, and also suggested surgery after having an ultrasound done. The hospital surgeon was informed. When he arrived, he quickly examined her and also recommended emergency surgery.

 

He explained though that although the signs and symptoms suggested acute appendicitis, the cause of the pain could be something else. Appendicitis is unlike other conditions where a definite diagnosis can be made through tests. A diagnosis of appendicitis can be made through a combination of assessment of signs and symptoms, and tests, but then the confirmatory diagnosis can only be made once the patient is opened in the operating room.

 

ExitairwayShe was brought to OR about 12:20 pm. I tried to give her all encouragements and I tried to be strong for her to be strong as well.

 

When she got inside, an overwhelming parade of fears accumulated in my head. I feared that something wrong might happen during surgery. I feared that Didith might feel the pain if the anaesthesia will not be successful. I feared that we might lose our baby.

 

While the surgery was ongoing, I felt as if every minute was slowly passing.  I could not eat. I could not even think and concentrate well. But there was something I remembered. There was only one who could help us in this condition. The One above. And so I began using my cellphone to start a text brigade of prayers. While the operation was ongoing, I requested almost everybody I know to offer a small prayer for my wife and for our baby, while I utter endless prayers myself.

 

About two hours later, I was called to come inside the operating room. My heart was pounding so fast, as the circulating nurses helped me wear an OR gown, mask and cap. Did something go wrong in the surgery? Are my mag-ina safe?  I felt all the worst kind of fears in an instant. My pulse was racing against each other.

 

When I entered the operating room, I saw my wife lying helplessly on the operating table. My heart sank as I witness her trying to withstand all these ordeals.

 

The doctors explained to me that even before they were able to see the appendix, they found the culprit of the unbearable pain my wife was experiencing. They found an ovarian cyst so twisted that they knew it was the one causing the pain. They showed me what they removed – it was about the size of my fist, and part of it was gangrenous because of the blood supply that was cut in the area.

 

The appendix was small and was not inflamed. The doctors asked me if I still want them to remove it, since they were already there open. I decided to tell them to leave it untouched. I did not want her to suffer from trying to heal two internal wounds, and to take care of a baby inside her all at the same time.

 

The doctors then confirmed that my wife, and our baby were safe from the operation. That they only needed to close her so she can be brought back to her room.

 

As I went out of the operating room, there was some sort of relief knowing that the two were safe. I have always believed in the power of prayers and this day I knew it worked again for us.

 

She was brought to her room almost 4pm, and she recovered from anaesthesia in the evening. The abdominal dressing was dry and her vitals were stable.

 

260_praying_man_1 I was a person undaunted by fears. When I feel it, I always try to overcome it, and I try to deny it. But now I realized that fears within me will not go, as I would forever worry about my loved ones. I acknowledged that the fear of losing someone dear to you is the most difficult fear to overcome.

 

Fears still go on inside of me. But knowing that there is Someone above who will look after us and our loved ones, I feel reassured that things are going to be okay.

 

 

 

21 Responses to “A Day of Fears”


  1. 1 digitalcatharsis
    March 31, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    POST SCRIPT:
    Didith is still recuperating from the surgery, but she is doing very well. She is still on leave. We are back staying in Bulacan.

    Endless thanks for all those who prayed for us.

    Like

  2. March 31, 2008 at 3:58 pm

    Thank God your wife and the baby are safe. Prayer is powerful. I will include your loved ones in my prayers. Stay strong and alway keep your faith, I’m positive everything will alright in the end.

    Like

  3. March 31, 2008 at 5:55 pm

    This is a very touching story bro. I am glad that you and your family are able to overcome these trials during this early stage of your marriage. Be strong dude. God is great.

    Like

  4. March 31, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    i was crying reading your post. i wish i was there for my two friends, to think i was just some few minutes away. 😦
    have faith and be strong. san kayo stay ngayon? i will visit you wednesday. start na ko summer class this thursday.

    Always ingat!

    Like

  5. April 1, 2008 at 5:05 pm

    bro! sa wakas, ok na ung comment sa http://www.nelsondidith.com! yehey! i will update lang version don ng wordpress. 😀 then change mo na password.hehe, ng di ko na magulo!

    Like

  6. April 1, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    Hi Nel, happy your wife & baby are doing ok, couldn’t breath your story but I do believe in prayers… Ingat kayo bro.

    Like

  7. 7 digitalcatharsis
    April 4, 2008 at 11:56 am

    hi aidisan, tnx for the message and for your prayers! im deeply touched that some fellow bloggers use some of their time to help pray for others in need.

    hi william, u dont run out of good words to say for me and my family. even if i dont know u personally, i consider u as one good friend.

    hi maline, u are not the first who said they were crying while reading the post. one friend of ours called from abroad after reading the story, and she said that she also cried. Naku, i didnt mean to do make u guys cry po. but thank u… coz i know that those tears mean that u are so concerned with us. we are so glad to have you guys as our friends.

    ge, i’ll check the site nelsondididth.com later. i have a lot of ideas in mind.

    hi peace, thanks again! naku, hindi ka rin makahinga sa pagbasa… ano ba itong naisulat ko… hehehe… yup, prayers are so powerful. God bless u!

    Like

  8. April 4, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    gosh bro, i was teary eyed reading your post. i thought something went really wrong. good thing you are a nurse and you have presence of mind. im glad that your wife and baby are okay now. i hope everything goes well na. the people here are so concerned. they are sending their regards. take lots and lots of care!

    Like

  9. April 9, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    Hi Bot and Dit!

    indeed..this is so touching!
    another story of strong faith and power of prayers in triumph 😉
    i was so worried about dit and the baby.
    i’m so glad they are ok now.
    as always..God is so good.

    kitang kita ko ang love mo sa family mo bot through this..
    im so happy for dit that she had found such a wonderful husband in you.
    thanks for making my “sister by heart” so happy and very well protected bot.

    excited na kaming lahat to see our little angel inigo 🙂
    always continue having that strong grip sa taas 🙂 God bless.

    PAHABOL:
    hmmm..bot i think kilala ko yung namention mong umiyak from abroad?!?! 😀
    e nakakaiyak naman talaga e..hihihi…
    and shocks what an awesome writer you are.
    grabe mukhang you’ll be publishing a book someday ah! :):) no kidding…ganda nito!

    Like

  10. 10 digitalcatharsis
    April 15, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    hi marc! thanks a lot! as always!

    hi leah! thank you so much for visiting my blog site! i am so thankful to have u as my wife’s “sister by heart.” thanks for your comments and i hope that u come back here from time to time. God bless!

    Like

  11. April 16, 2008 at 11:16 am

    Hi,I’m touched with your post, can’t help but to end your story teary eyed, mixed emotions I’ve got here to know that you’re wife is fine now and the baby despite all odds. It must have been a real heartbreaking experience. Carry on with prayers, these could move mountains:)

    Like

  12. April 19, 2008 at 11:13 pm

    hi dude. nice to hear that your wife is doing okay now. like the others, i was teary eyed reading your post too! whaaa! and let me say also that this was very well written. readers like me felt the emotions while you were under those circumstances. i’ll continue praying for the health of inigo and didith.

    Like

  13. April 24, 2008 at 10:49 am

    Thank you for sharing this experience of yours and making us realize all the more that the power of prayers is the strongest.

    I like reading your blog coz most of your posts are very sensible. Some blog sites have become so commercialized that some posts become too boring. I noticed you don’t write often but you only write sensible ones. Keep it up!

    Like

  14. 14 digitalcatharsis
    April 24, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    COMMENTS POSTED ON MY FRIENDSTER INBOX:

    AYEEMAJID wrote on 03/31/08: I’m so touch with the story and happy that everybody’s fine and doing well! Keep praying as my prayers will always be with you and your family!!!

    RITCHIE wrote on 04/01/08: Dear Nelson,
    So much of your ordeal, thank God they are both safe. Kamusta na lang kay Didith.

    GRACE wrote on 04/01/08: ei, good to know that your mag-ina are okay! pls send my regards to didith!
    have a good day ahead!!

    TON wrote on 04/04/08: when ba sya manganak, binyag? sa dec vacation namin.. im happy for u. naiyak naman ako sa long story ng magina mo.. hope things are okey with them na. take good care of them ha.
    nagwowork kba?
    ngtz.

    TEZ Posted 04/4/2008 11:53 am
    ay sorry to hear bout yor wife,anyway ingat and wer praying 4 dat mis u fren.

    NANCY wrote on 04/11/08: hi nelson and didith san,
    i heard abt the what happened.we’re so glad na ate didith is doing fine now.nakakatakot nga ang makaranas nun..basta magiingat ka palagi ate didith and ur baby. nelson will take good care of u and baby.

    LYNNE wrote on 04/16/08: THAnk God for you passed the test God imposed on you. Just acknowledged, apart from Him, you can do nothing. And God is always in control if you wholly believed in His promises and on HIs word! God bless U and your entire family.

    Like

  15. 15 digitalcatharsis
    April 24, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    hi mina, marcus, diego: thanks for dropping a note here, and thank you for the prayers.

    TO EVERYONE, KNOWN & UNKNOWN TO US, THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR PRAYERS, AND FOR SHOWING YOUR CONCERN TO MY FAMILY. I APPRECIATE EVERYTHING AND I HOPE THAT GOD REPAYS YOU FOR YOUR GOOD DEEDS. GOD BLESS YOU ALL.

    Like

  16. April 26, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    nelson, i am super glad that your wife and your baby are both in good condition now. i missed visiting your blog as i was quite busy lately with some training. but i hope to be back soon as soon as the last training day is over. good luck and my prayers are for the safety of your wife and inigo.

    Like

  17. 17 digitalcatharsis
    April 26, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    hi yeng! thanks for dropping a note! i thought u got tired of writing… missed your musings!

    Like

  18. June 20, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    i think this is one of the most fears event in your life..yeah, GOD is good talaga and he really listens to our prayers..
    She been through a lot pala when she’s pregnant..miracle baby pala si Inigo..
    no wonder you love them both very much..

    Like

  19. June 21, 2011 at 6:01 pm

    It’s times like these when we need God the most. And God was really good that he kept your family safe. Buti na lang naagapan niyo. This will be a great story to tell Inigo someday. 🙂 Just continue praying and God will always keep your family blessed.

    Like

  20. June 25, 2011 at 8:06 pm

    God is really a great and miraculous God! and He is the answer to all our prayers. 🙂

    Like

  21. 21 kat
    June 28, 2011 at 4:37 am

    Whoa! di rin naman pala biro ang pinagdaanan ng mag-ina mo, especially kay Didith…kahit alam kong okay na okay mag-ina mo ngayon..kakakaba pa rin basahin ang karanasan mo…well, kumatok ka kay Lord, so pinagbuksan ka nya….kaya ayan…may maganda kang pamilya….

    Like


I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts with me here :)

No one person can ever experience all that life has to offer. It is only through sharing - experiences, feelings, insights - that we can hope to grow beyond our own meager lifetime.

Nurses are tough people. But behind great nurses are inspirations to keep them doing what they need to do - TO CARE.

Nurse or non-nurse, please feel free to move around the site. Everybody needs inspirations to be encouraged every now and then.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,327 other followers

***Inspirational quotes are lifted from elsewhere (Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, Instagram). If there are issues regarding copyright, please let me know and I'll take the post down.

Blog Stats

  • 331,297 hits

NEGOSYONG PANG OFWs! Check mo to!

Unified-Products-and-Services-Inc_-or-UPS-for-brevity-sister-company-of-GPRS-Victor-globalpinoy_me-was-established-2011

Archives

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Live Traffic Feed

Proud Member :)

BC_BLOGGERS

DISCLAIMER

Health posts here are the author's opinion and should not be taken as professional advice. It is still best to consult your physician. Posts in this site protect patient confidentiality, so if you have any concerns regarding any of the nursing posts, please send me a message and I will be happy to address them.

