18
Dec
07

My Reflection for Christmas

It is barely a week before Christmas.

I was trying to wrap some gifts this morning, while watching the early morning show, Umagang Kay Ganda, when the news about the fire in Pasay City hit me. Around 250 families were left homeless after the blaze destroyed a squatter’s area in the said city yesterday afternoon. What struck me further was when the fire victims were interviewed, and appealed for some basic stuff for them to be able to live decently – water, food, banig, blankets and used clothes.

My heart just sank watching a young couple embracing and comforting each other while looking at their burning house. An old lady was teary-eyed as she told the reporter that she has nowhere else to go. The children were hungry.

What if this unfortunate event happens to us (knock on wood!)? And it is barely a week before Christmas…

Just last week, I wrote my last post about the many blessings I received this year. I tried counting the wonderful gifts from God, and I found it difficult to stop counting after I realized that I was indeed blessed with countless miracles. But then, after enumerating and appreciating all these blessings, where do I go next?

Sometimes we tend to complain about the holiday season. There is so much traffic. It is difficult to get a ride. The malls are so crowded. The schedules are so hectic because of the number of Christmas parties that need to be attended. New clothes need to be bought for the occasion. Etcetera etcetera.

The fire yesterday in Pasay City made me reflect on my blessings – that I should not merely count them, that I should not just appreciate them and thank the Lord for them. I think I should open my eyes wider and look at the people around me. Not everyone is as blessed as I do, and some does not even have the most basic stuff that I am enjoying. I am sitting here at the comfort of our living room, on the carpet watching tv and at the same time typing on my laptop drinking coffee – while there are people outside whose stomach are crowing.

I saw some aetas asking for some alms along the busy roads of Meycauayan – they do not have a decent place to sleep in. Some of my patients might not even get out of the hospital in time for Christmas. My work colleagues in Riyadh who did not get to come home this December are surely missing their families. Some of my friends who lost their loved ones this year, will surely be having a not so joyful Christmas. Carlo Cruz, who lost his wife in the Glorietta 2 blast, will be longing for the warm company of a spouse this cold holiday season.

I know I cannot change the world, and I cannot make every living creature in this place comfortable. But I think it would help if I start in myself being contented in what I have, and stop whining about little things. The world is not perfect and not everybody gets a very good life. I am lucky to be alive, with all the wonderful blessings around me. I may not get all that I wanted in this life, but I am getting what I needed. I think that is more important.

The holiday season is a time to share our blessings with the less fortunate – not just the poor – but to those who might be needing other than physical gifts. Some might be needing just a simple company, or somebody whom they can talk to. Some might need a hug and be reassured that things are going to be okay.

Let us, in our own simple ways, contribute in putting up smiles this Christmas season. Share a piece of yourself, a piece of your blessings.

Have a blessed Christmas.

18 Responses to “My Reflection for Christmas”


  1. December 18, 2007 at 9:55 pm

    awww… very well said. i think i should look around too :)im being greedy myself at times… hehe.

    Like

  2. December 19, 2007 at 4:08 am

    Yeah… kakaawa nga yung mga victims ng fire. Napanood ko rin kanina sa tv patrol. Pasko pa naman, tsk tsk… I’ll pray for them.

    Like

  3. December 19, 2007 at 4:59 am

    It’s true! we are more blessed than they are.

    Like

  4. December 19, 2007 at 2:56 pm

    Even if you try to make your life perfect , you will never be truly happy when the people around u are suffering. It is through sharing what we have that we really achieve a blissful life.

    Like

  5. December 19, 2007 at 6:35 pm

    yup yup… life is not measured by how much you have earned in your life, but by how well you have lived your life. merry xmas bro.

    Like

  6. December 20, 2007 at 9:01 pm

    hi dude… just dropping by… merry xmas!

    Like

  7. December 20, 2007 at 10:39 pm

    Marc, Diego, Mary Paz, William, Marcus and Neil Patrick – thank you so much for always leaving nice comments here. Merry Christmas!

    Like

  8. December 21, 2007 at 3:43 am

    helo nelson try to visit this site (below) if you want to look for more layouts. pero i like your site now it reflects the writer in you. http://themes.wordpress.net/

    Like

  9. December 25, 2007 at 9:39 am

    hi lirio yeng, thanks for the info regarding layouts. i have seen your other sites… nice posts there too… thanks for always dropping by…

    Like

  10. December 26, 2007 at 6:38 pm

    Hi..it’s so nice of you to drop by my place. You have one beautiful site!

    Like

  11. December 27, 2007 at 7:16 am

    Thanks for coming. Mind to exchange link?
    Every year i’m looking forward for this Christmas

    Like

  12. 13 digitalcatharsis
    December 27, 2007 at 8:54 am

    Hi Pebbles! Thanks for coming here! I hope u dont mind me adding u in my blogroll. Happy New Year!
    Hi Johnny! Thanks for dropping by! Yup, I added u already in my links. Happy New Year!

    Like

  13. December 29, 2007 at 2:50 pm

    nelson, nasa linker ko na pala yung link mo…. happy new year sa inyo jan.

    Like

  14. August 23, 2008 at 12:38 am

    Hi,
    Good article here. Malapit na naman. Mas maswerte tayo kasi at least my trabaho. So I would advice everyone to show some love in Christmas. More power.

    Like

  15. June 21, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    I heard of this before, and I remember it because a friend of mine lives there and we were so worried that time. They lost everything but she said that she’s thankful no one got hurt in their family. But help did come soon, and the people back then were so generous with the donations. I wonder if it’s because of Chris

    Don’t you wish it is Christmas once in a while? People become more caring and aware of the needs of others during Christmas season, which I think is a way of them trying to undo the bad things they did in time for Christmas.

    Like

  16. June 25, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    For us its only during Christmas that we share our blessings. My family and I loves to give anything we can specially for our poor church members.

    Like

  17. 18 kat
    June 28, 2011 at 3:33 am

    ay sinabi mo pa…magpapasko tapos nasunugan, di biro na problema yan….kakaawa talaga sila…noong napanood ko to sa TV, i was so thankful na kalilipat lang ng bahay ang mga pinsan ko pero may naiwan pa silang gamit doon…..tinext nila ako na nasusunog daw yong lugar nila…akala ko yong nilipatan nila, yon pala yong dati nilang tinitirhan…at may gamit pa daw sila doon…sabi ko pabayaan na lang nila yon……buhay ang emportante and hindi gamit………

    Like


I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts with me here :)

No one person can ever experience all that life has to offer. It is only through sharing - experiences, feelings, insights - that we can hope to grow beyond our own meager lifetime.

Nurses are tough people. But behind great nurses are inspirations to keep them doing what they need to do - TO CARE.

Nurse or non-nurse, please feel free to move around the site. Everybody needs inspirations to be encouraged every now and then.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,332 other followers

***Inspirational quotes are lifted from elsewhere (Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, Instagram). If there are issues regarding copyright, please let me know and I'll take the post down.

Blog Stats

  • 327,178 hits

NEGOSYONG PANG OFWs! Check mo to!

Unified-Products-and-Services-Inc_-or-UPS-for-brevity-sister-company-of-GPRS-Victor-globalpinoy_me-was-established-2011

Archives

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Live Traffic Feed

Proud Member :)

BC_BLOGGERS

DISCLAIMER

Health posts here are the author's opinion and should not be taken as professional advice. It is still best to consult your physician. Posts in this site protect patient confidentiality, so if you have any concerns regarding any of the nursing posts, please send me a message and I will be happy to address them.

