05
Dec
07

A Letter to My Baby

 Dear Inigo,

Yes, I called you Inigo. I know we are still uncertain as to what you will be – a boy or a girl – but we decided to give you that name provisionally, until tests confirm of your sex. I did not give you that name because I wanted you to be a boy. I just want to call you by a name, that’s all. If you become a girl, it wouldn’t matter. My love will be the same. I love you unconditionally and undoubtedly.

Welcome, my child, into this world. I am your father. You may not see me yet, but I know you can hear me, not my voice, but my feelings from within. I may not see you yet too, but I can feel your presence in my heart.

From the day I realized of your existence, I knew I found true happiness. Everyday that you were growing inside your mommy’s tummy, my emotions are growing as well. My love for you filled my heart as well as some worries of how I could possibly give you everything in this world and keep you safe from any harm.

I can’t believe that even as I sit here writing this letter, a child of mine is growing, getting bigger and bigger, stretching his little arms and legs and doing everything he can do to get himself ready for the world. I am so anxious to meet you, Inigo, and get to introduce you to your family.

Your mommy is so excited, that her eyes light up whenever we talk about you. Who will you look like? Will you have my dimples, or will you inherit your mom’s long limbs? Will you be as smart as mommy or will you work as fast as daddy? Ah, so many questions! And we will just wonder until you come here with us.

As I feel the excitement and joy, I am also scared while being overwhelmed by all the new responsibilities that lay ahead. I know that I should take good care of your mom while you are still inside of her. When you come out, I will be taking care of the two of you, and your brothers or sisters when they come out next. I just wonder if I can be a good father to you, and if I could be able to provide for all your needs. I wonder if I can always be available if you need somebody to talk to. I wonder if I can be the ideal father you want me to be.

There was a time in my life when I had wants and desires. Now that you are here, my prayers, dreams and hopes are for your happiness and health. I want to protect you from every hurt, pain and disappointment in your life, although I know that would not be possible, or even helpful to you. But as long as I live, you will have me as a friend, well-wisher, nurturer, guide and guardian. I will be your father. I may not be a perfect father for it is something I haven’t done before and it is something I cannot rehearse, but I can try to be the best that I can be. I will not ask anything in return, except for your respect to me and to your mother as your parents.

To be honest, I worry so much about you right now, that you will not be able to get all the things you need to grow, that something is going to happen and we might lose you. I was talking to my friend the other day and I was talking about you and how I couldn’t wait for you to be born so that I could stop worrying about you. Then a thought struck me: I will always worry about you. – when you are 5 and headed out the door to your first day of school, when you’re 16 going on your first date or when you’re 26 and you have children of your own. I guess that’s a parent’s destiny in life, to worry about his or her children.

I have always said that I would not be one of those silly parents who sneak into their children’s bedrooms and stare at the tiny rise and fall of their chests just to make sure that they are still breathing. Now I confess I will always sneak into your room to stare at you. I guess parents don’t do it just to get the reassurance that their children are still alive; they do it so that they can be reassured that this miracle is still there, that they were not dreaming at all.

Do you know that you make me so proud? I could not believe that God has blessed me with a precious gift, a treasure. At times, I have felt unworthy of such a great task as nurturing a life. But I knew, He gave me you because He knows that I can take care of you.

One thing I should tell you, my precious baby, is that life is going to be hard. The world is not perfect and you will have your shares of bad times, too. But you can be sure of one thing: no matter how hard life is, I will love you. There is nothing in my eyes that you can do that will make me not love you. I may not be perfect, as I may stumble at times and I may even fall. But none of us knows everything, sweetheart, but I will do my best to teach you what I know and help you to learn what I don’t. No matter what your dreams are or how high you choose to reach, I will stand beside you.

I make you a promise now, before I even see your eyes or your tiny smile: You can be who you choose to be. I will never try to change you to suit my mold. I will always respect your independence and sense of self. Even if it hurts me to standby, and let you make your own decisions, good or bad, I will do it with only gentle words and kind persuasions. I may raise my voice in anger at times, but know that I do it because I love you and I want nothing but the best for you. I love you, Inigo, and when you are older and think that I do not understand you or know who you are, understand that I do. I know everything about you. I know every part of you, because I am part of your creation. From love you were conceived and in love you will grow.

For the meantime, promise me to hang on securely inside mommy’s tummy until you are big enough to come out and meet us. Try to make yourself as healthy as possible. I will be waiting here in the outside world. Mom and dad love you so much. See you soon.

Love,

Dad


30 Responses to “A Letter to My Baby”


  1. December 5, 2007 at 4:55 pm

    Hi, very nice letter! I got teary eyed reading letter from a dad like u are… very well said

    Like

  2. December 5, 2007 at 7:30 pm

    kakatouch naman ng letter mo kay baby… gusto ko na tuloy magkababy!! whaaaa! congratulations again! keep writing! your posts are great!!

    Like

  3. December 5, 2007 at 10:58 pm

    Naks, sana mabasa nya to pag malaki na sya… para malaman nya na may mga promises ka pala… hehe! Nice blog!

    Like

  4. December 6, 2007 at 1:03 am

    cute ng pic ng dalawang pares ng paa!! you dont need to be scared about becoming a father… your sense of responsibility is evident in your posts. your blog is a mirror of your inner self. Godspeed!

    Like

  5. December 6, 2007 at 2:33 pm

    This is probably one of the most interesting letter I have ever read. I like your writing style which makes readers get hooked in reading. Congratulations!

    Like

  6. December 6, 2007 at 4:46 pm

    Nice one… it came from the heart! Good luck to fatherhood.

    Like

  7. December 6, 2007 at 6:11 pm

    Mary Paz, Marc, Diego, William, Marcus, Neil Patrick – salamat po ng marami!!! God bless you, guys!!

    Like

  8. December 8, 2007 at 10:38 pm

    wow!speechless. o diba? being a parent, esp. for the first time is life changing? hehe, for sure during inigo’s delivery, you’d be more nervous than didith.hehe.

    keep up, inigo will appreciate all these when he/she sees all your lovely posts later on.

    hmm, teka, left me wondering?ikaw ba un?hehe, kaya pala nainlove si didith.nyehehe

    Like

  9. December 10, 2007 at 3:02 pm

    nyahay, totoo… baka ako nerbyusin…hehe… sana umiral ang pagka nurse ko, hindi lang pagka-tatay… hehe… tnx for always dropping by…

    Like

  10. December 11, 2007 at 12:24 am

    dok,

    congrats…dadag naman sa bautista Amily ang magiging baby mo…ha…

    Like

  11. December 11, 2007 at 4:37 pm

    uy kuya atot! tnx for dropping by!

    Like

  12. December 12, 2007 at 3:21 am

    Hello Bobotski,

    From the way you express your excitement with your soon to be born child, I’m sure you will be a great father and provider. Inigo is such a lucky angel to have a parent like you.

    Have a great holidays:)

    Like

  13. December 12, 2007 at 8:23 pm

    whinz lorgrace posted 12/12/2007 2:35 pm
    nelson, what a beautiful letter for your baby. Congratulations!

    Like

  14. December 12, 2007 at 8:37 pm

    Hi, Aileen! Thanks for dropping by! Messages from people unknown to me are so inspiring! Have a merry Christmas, too!

    Hi Whinz! Never heard from u for quite a while. Thanks for dropping by!

    Like

  15. December 18, 2007 at 3:59 am

    nelson this is such a wonderful letter so beautifully written by a man whom i know will surely become a good dad. your baby must be very lucky.

    Like

  16. December 18, 2007 at 3:09 pm

    Hi Lirio Yeng! Thanks for this very nice comment, and for always dropping by!!

    Like

  17. 18 digitalcatharsis
    December 28, 2007 at 6:39 pm

    Thanks Jen! And thanks for coming here!

    Like

  18. March 1, 2008 at 7:13 pm

    Wow nice letter. You must or will be a great and responsible father soon. Please don’t forget to let your child read this when he/ she is old enough.

    Good read

    Like

  19. 20 digitalcatharsis
    March 3, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    tnx vinkoy!

    Like

  20. April 14, 2008 at 4:37 pm

    wow! bot..truly comes from the heart..haaayyy..
    nakakainspire magbaby! hehehehe🙂

    it’s a sure deal bot, you’ll do great..
    you and ditdit will be one of the best parents on earth for sure!
    inigo is really lucky :):)
    congrats ulit!

    Like

  21. 22 digitalcatharsis
    April 15, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    hi leah! thanks thanks! im sure u and marvin will be great parents too, when the time comes…

    Like

  22. September 23, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    i was reading your old posts… this one got me teary-eyed… u were too excited to see your son born, but then i realized u never made it on the day he came, coz u had to leave the country before he was born. such a wonderful letter!

    Like

  23. 24 digitalcatharsis
    September 23, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    Thanks, Suzzy!

    Like

  24. January 31, 2011 at 8:05 am

    What a letter!! You so perfectly wrote exactly what all parents feel as soon as they find out that they will be parents and all the grand statements they made they realize that they must eat their words…yes we all will be the parent that talks about our child’s poop. That is true love…thinking that the poo that comes out of our child would interest everyone else.

    What a lucky lady your wife is and a lucky boy your son is. I had a horrendous father. Each and every child should have a father such as you. As parents we all want to protect our children, but we learn that for them to be themselves they need to learn the same painful lessons of life that we had to learn. Your words were so beautiful!

    I was trying to figure out how old your son is…I think he very close in age to my son. Finn was born June 21, 2008. And did you name your son Inigo? I should know that…but I don’t!

    Like

    • 26 digitalcatharsis
      January 31, 2011 at 1:23 pm

      Hi KATE, thanks for the complements! My son was born July 19 2008, so our son is about the same age. This is an old post and I remembered writing this when I read your post last night and saw that video of the very cruel mother. I have a promise to my child and I will keep that.

      Like

  25. June 21, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    I honestly am really interested about how Inigo would react to this letter, and to the other posts about him in this blog. He’s really lucky to have loving parents like you and your wife, and I can really feel it in every post you make about your family. Nakakainggit! Haha!

    Like

  26. June 25, 2011 at 7:43 pm

    what a very nice and touching story! wow at talaga ngang naging boy si Inigo🙂 pwede po ba mag ask anong secret kasi gusto namin ni hubby ng baby boy🙂

    Like

  27. 29 kat
    June 28, 2011 at 3:18 am

    ay cute…sana i-back up mo to sa file mo para siguradong di mawala…at pagdating ng araw, sana mabasa ni Inigo….so touching….

    Like

  28. June 28, 2011 at 4:07 am

    a heart-warming letter, am sure your son will really appreciate this when he is older. + yes, i guess it comes with the territory, i am one of those guilty parents who never fail to check the slow rising + falling of my son’s chest just to reassure me that i won’t be waking up anytime soon from this wonderful dream😀

    Like


I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts with me here :)

No one person can ever experience all that life has to offer. It is only through sharing - experiences, feelings, insights - that we can hope to grow beyond our own meager lifetime.

Nurses are tough people. But behind great nurses are inspirations to keep them doing what they need to do - TO CARE.

Nurse or non-nurse, please feel free to move around the site. Everybody needs inspirations to be encouraged every now and then.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,307 other followers

***Inspirational quotes are lifted from elsewhere (Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, Instagram). If there are issues regarding copyright, please let me know and I'll take the post down.

Blog Stats

  • 315,606 hits

Please click :)

NEGOSYONG PANG OFWs! Check mo to!

Unified-Products-and-Services-Inc_-or-UPS-for-brevity-sister-company-of-GPRS-Victor-globalpinoy_me-was-established-2011

Archives

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Live Traffic Feed

Proud Member :)

BC_BLOGGERS

DISCLAIMER

Health posts here are the author's opinion and should not be taken as professional advice. It is still best to consult your physician. Posts in this site protect patient confidentiality, so if you have any concerns regarding any of the nursing posts, please send me a message and I will be happy to address them.

