10
Nov
07

FRIENDS COMICS: A Past Revisited

I have a very imaginative mind as I child. I would make robots out of medicine boxes. I would sculpt figures out of clays. I would draw and write the whole day. I got involved in art competitions and really enjoyed art classes. I never realized that later on my passion in art would connect with another passion, to be able to connect with people.

 

I was 11 years old when I started making my own version of comics. I folded bond papers into two, and stapled it in the middle, just like local genuine comics would do. I would draw girls in flashy clothes for the cover. The contents would include children poems, short stories, comic strips, and other works of fiction, all brought about by my very wild imagination. A friend suggested the name FRIENDS COMICS. And that started it all.

 

I would then let my classmates borrow my masterpiece and would allow them to write anything they want – comments, suggestions, greetings, and sometimes literary contributions. I enjoyed the response I was getting, as my classmates enjoyed the entertaining reading material that I created. It then became a weekly publication. My sister and my neighbor once borrowed the comics and brought it to their schools. Instantly, I had readers outside our school waiting for the following week’s issue.

 

 The comics would come back to me full of writings, and almost worn out. I did not mind if the comics came back in poor condition. My intention was to make people happy through my artworks. And I think I was able to do it in my own little way. I would keep the read comics in my drawers until I was able to collect piles of my masterpiece.

 

I continued making comics until I entered high school. I grew up with my readers, and as my readers and I matured, the contents developed as well. The article contributions included older-themed poems, advice columns, watercolor artworks, and even love song lyrics.

 

The use of photocopiers, scanners, digital cameras, computers, and the internet, was not as popular before as it is today. So the limitation in modern technology was a factor in mass-producing a personally-crafted weekly-published comics. My comics remained as a single copy, passed from person to person, until it comes back to me, when everybody has finished reading – and writing their own literary and art contributions. Its being a single-copy-comics had its advantages though, since it allowed my friends to write down on the pages personally, so that the next readers would read what they wrote. The early readers would come back reading the comics again, so that they will be updated on what has been added.

 

The weekly publication was ended by a farewell issue dated March 1992, just before our high school graduation. I wanted to continue it during my college years but my college studies did not permit me to do so, since I took up a very demanding course.

 

Fifteen years after I stopped making comics, I stumbled upon piles of my masterpieces in my old monobloc boxes. As I opened each pages, I started a time travel, and I was brought back into my younger years. How I laughed at my old corny jokes, and artworks as I child!

 

The comics issued when I was in high school were even more interesting. My classmates’ writings and contributions were a reflection of how colorful teenage years were. There were revelations about crushes and even word wars among friends. Two of my friends who have already passed away were made to live again by their writings. Ah, what a way to reminisce! I realized I never lost those joyful times of my childhood, as they are wonderfully inscribed forever in the pages of Friends Comics.

 

And hey, before I forget, I should give credit to my special friend who gave my comics its name – she is now my wife.

If you know Friends Comics and is interested in revisiting the past, visit http://mhphs92.blogspot.com. I started posting scanned pages there. Join me in my time machine! I assure you it will be a very interesting journey!

 

18 Responses to “FRIENDS COMICS: A Past Revisited”


  1. November 10, 2007 at 11:59 pm

    wow, talaga naman! si didith pa din?hehe, destiny nga talaga ito. Highschool won’t be complete without your Friends Comics!!!And so glad u still got them!So nice to look back and reminisce those nice memories!
    Ooops, since wala pa kong gift nung wedding I already one thing in mind bugging me for weeks. secret muna, kasi di na ko makapunta sa chinatown!hehe to buy sana ung fengshui item.all in initial planning stages!!!hope u like it when I give it…

    Like

  2. November 12, 2007 at 3:48 pm

    hi maline! thanks for reading my blogs! i’ll be posting a lot of scanned pages in our website soon. yesterday, i unearthed some interesting materials for posting! i’m sure everybody will enjoy it.

    Hey, dont bother about the gift! pero kung may pinaplano ka na, pwede na rin… bwehihihi!!

    Like

  3. November 12, 2007 at 4:00 pm

    cute mo nung bata… hehe..

    Like

  4. November 12, 2007 at 6:33 pm

    Kaw po ba yung bata… o anak mo un??? hehehehe!! Joke lang po! So cute!

    Like

  5. November 12, 2007 at 7:00 pm

    whew! nice posting dude! brings back my childhood memories as well. i liked to draw as a kid also.

    Like

  6. November 12, 2007 at 7:13 pm

    pare kaw ba yung bata?!! whaaa!!!

    Like

  7. November 13, 2007 at 6:52 am

    truly one of the foundations of our friendship.. haaay, magugulat kayo talaga kung papano nya natabi lahat ng memorabilias from his friends.. ganyan mag-value si nelson ng mga friends nya.. haaay, kaka-inlove nu.. hihi

    Like

  8. November 14, 2007 at 4:53 am

    Hi CARLO J. CAPARAS este Pablo Gomez este Nelson pala,

    Ngayon ko lang nalaman na ipinagpatuloy mo pala iyong FRIENDS COMICS mo hanggang highschool. Akala ko kasi after ng ELEMENTARY DAYS natin, in-stop mo na eh. Sayang at hindi na namin nasubaybayan iyon (dahil nagkaiba-iba na tayo ng alma mater ng nag-highschool)pero MASAYA pa rin ako kasi lalong lumawak ang tagasubaybay mo at mayroon ka pang naging katuwang sa pag-unlad nito, na mga high-school friends mo. At take note, Carlo J. pa rin ang style mo ha kasi tulad ng Komiks ni Carlo J., binubuhay mo ulit ang talento mo sa pagsulat (after mamahinga ng ilang taon) sa pamamagitan ng BLOG na ito. Sana lumawig pa ang iyong mga tagasubaybay.

    I am looking forward na in the future magka-column ka na rin sa newspaper o kaya mas mainam kung sa komiks ni Mr. Carlo J… para may susubaybayan kami na ang may-akda eh walang iba kundi ikaw. Pero mas magiging masaya ako kung gagawa ka ng libro. Sabagay, itong BLOG mo, masaya na ako sa tinatamasa nitong pag-angat sa larangan ng pagsulat.

    Sige, dito na lang. God bless you and Didith. Regards sa kanya ha. Kapag may article ka na sa Komiks inform mo kami ha at bigyan mo ng copy sina Ma’am Fernando, Ma’am Cruz at Ma’am Mediran hehehe.

    Anyway, maiba ako. Alam mo, tugma sa iyo iyong totoong meaning ng NURSE. NURSE kasi means

    N – urses are
    U – ssually
    R – eserved for
    S – uccessful
    E – ngineers

    Successful Engineer di ba si Didith hehehe. Si Didith naman, WIN naman sa iyo kasi isa kang WIN… meaning

    W – riter
    I – nstructor
    N – urse

    Sige GOD BLESS

    Sincerely yours,
    Robert a.k.a Papa Birth

    P.S. (Atlast, gumana rin itong comment page ko.)

    Like

  9. November 14, 2007 at 10:45 pm

    wow papa birth! at hinabaan mo pa yung comment mo ha!! at may acrostics pa!! tenk yu tenk yu talaga!! i also wish you all the best in all your endeavors! God bless you too!!

    Like

  10. November 16, 2007 at 11:43 pm

    naku, si didith, talagang kilig.hehe. cooking up na po ung gift ko. hehe. sigurado ko medyo alam mo na un. hay, sige na nga po, sabihin ko na. At di ko na kaya isecret!Plus I would really need cooperation from u!

    I am planning a website for you, a webhosted one.hehe, sagot ko na ung 1year payment and domain name!I’ll just turn over pag ok na to document your love and marriage bliss. what d’ya think? Kahiya naman kung free blogs lang diba.hahaha, pero oks din un, pabor sa akin.hehe.

    I already found some templates, pero I am still not decided about the domainname. here are some options:
    1.nelson&didith.com
    2.lovejourney.com
    3.ourlovejourney.net (meron na kasi .com)
    4.destinedforlove.com

    hayyyy,but syempre website nyo ito if ever, eh kung ano gusto nyo domain.hehe, naalala ko kasi si didith sa comment nya dito last time na she wants some inspirational and life blogs. Kaya ayan, di na secret, if you want another domain name just tell me before I contact my own webhost.

    Muahhh! I love you both!
    Ay, nelson kamukha ka pala ng tito ko, noon ko pa napansin un, pero pati pic mo nung kid ka kahawig ng tito ko. hehe.

    Like

  11. November 16, 2007 at 11:46 pm

    ay, nakalimutan ko pala ung option na ito hehe. sa tingin ko dbest! http://www.bobot&didith.com
    hehe.

    Like

  12. November 19, 2007 at 12:34 am

    ei maline! i just got back from bulacan kaya di ako nakareply agad… wow naman yung gift mo… we are so grateful… let me wait for didith’s opinion… she’s still in the office 🙂 … tnx maline, ur such a wonderful friend!

    Like

  13. June 21, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    I didn’t know that you’re a sentimental person. From my world, men are nowhere near sentimental. I thought only girls are the ones who keep memoirs like that. It’s really cute to see how you managed to keep those comics. I remember my grade school drawings with that photo 🙂 Those were the days!

    Like

  14. June 25, 2011 at 7:11 pm

    wow! grabe napaka talented mo nga naman talaga kasi super imaginative mo 🙂 kaya natutuwa rin ako sa mga funny comic strips and dialogues mo.

    Like

  15. 15 kat
    June 28, 2011 at 2:40 am

    ah mahilig ka na plang gumawa ng script…kaya naman pala eh. hehe

    Like

  16. 16 Gu
    August 3, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    1. Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it is truly informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels. I will be grateful if you continue this in future. Numerous people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

    Like

  17. 17 vimax
    August 4, 2011 at 11:52 pm

    Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it. Look advanced to more added agreeable from you! However, how can we communicate?

    Like

  18. 18 checkie
    August 16, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    I also really like the theme/design), I don’t have time for you to browse it all at the minute but I’ve got saved it and as well added inside your RSS rss feeds, so once i have time I’ll be back to see more, Please do keep up the good work.

    Like


I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts with me here :)

No one person can ever experience all that life has to offer. It is only through sharing - experiences, feelings, insights - that we can hope to grow beyond our own meager lifetime.

Nurses are tough people. But behind great nurses are inspirations to keep them doing what they need to do - TO CARE.

Nurse or non-nurse, please feel free to move around the site. Everybody needs inspirations to be encouraged every now and then.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,332 other followers

***Inspirational quotes are lifted from elsewhere (Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, Instagram). If there are issues regarding copyright, please let me know and I'll take the post down.

Blog Stats

  • 326,252 hits

NEGOSYONG PANG OFWs! Check mo to!

Unified-Products-and-Services-Inc_-or-UPS-for-brevity-sister-company-of-GPRS-Victor-globalpinoy_me-was-established-2011

Archives

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Live Traffic Feed

Proud Member :)

BC_BLOGGERS

DISCLAIMER

Health posts here are the author's opinion and should not be taken as professional advice. It is still best to consult your physician. Posts in this site protect patient confidentiality, so if you have any concerns regarding any of the nursing posts, please send me a message and I will be happy to address them.

