05
Nov
07

Teaching as a Nursing Profession

 I was not into teaching until my alma mater hired me as a part-time clinical instructor last semester to handle third-year nursing students. I had my doubts at first, as to whether I will be an effective teacher or not, since I know that teaching in a hospital setting is a lot different from teaching inside a classroom. It is very different from having your students seated on rows, than having students who are walking around the hospital, performing health-risk, if not life-threatening procedures. And that my professional nursing license is at stake every time students take care of real-life patients.

 

Following up nursing students inside the hospital was not really new to me. I handled foreign nursing students when I was in the Middle East. Patients there were quite demanding, and meticulous, and so I learned how to make sure that the students were knowledgeable of the procedures they were performing even before going to the bedside, otherwise I end up being reprimanded by the patients themselves.

 

I had three groups last semester, most of them were fresh from high school (meaning, not second-coursers). Some were still having doubts as to whether they should continue with their nursing course or not. Some were just influenced to take their course by the people who are financing their studies. Some were just plain pasaway.

 

After finishing the first semester, I learned a lot of things about clinical teaching. First, I realized that even if my job as a teacher should focus on making sure the students gain enough knowledge during their clinical exposure, it is still the patient lying on the bed who should be my utmost concern. Before making any procedures to the patient, I should make sure that he is comfortable and that he is confident with his caregivers, even if they are just students.

 

I also learned that student nurses can be taught self confidence by actually making them perform procedures by themselves (with supervision, of course). I sometimes get doubts as to whether I should allow the student to perform the activity or not. But by initially assessing the student’s knowledge on the procedure, I get enough trust on the student that he will finish the task successfully. And by making him actually complete the job, he builds the confidence necessary to gain the patient’s trust.

 

Lastly, I learned the value of sharing knowledge to the people who are thirsty of it. It is indeed a privilege and honor to be part in molding young minds who will become professionals someday. When my students thanked me after their clinical rotation ended, I felt that they gained a lot of knowledge and skills, and that I made my own contribution in uplifting the standards of the nursing profession.

 

I should say that I enjoyed my stint as a clinical instructor. The experience was worth it.

14 Responses to “Teaching as a Nursing Profession”


  1. November 7, 2007 at 12:31 am

    ei pare nagtuturo ka pala jan! galing naman! congrats!

    Like

  2. November 9, 2007 at 9:11 pm

    mukha po kayong magaling na C.I. Sana dumami pa po ang tulad nyong may concern sa mga estudyante. Kasi po yung ibang CI jan pinababayaan lang ang mga students sa duty. God bless po!

    Like

  3. November 10, 2007 at 11:53 pm

    galing!hehe,di ko imagine sarili kong teacher, should need lots of patience I know.

    Dun sa blogroll ko, blupanjeet, he’s also a nursing teacher. cool website nya, maybe you could check out sometime!

    Like

  4. November 11, 2007 at 3:19 pm

    pare congrats.
    maraming CI dyan na di deserving. walang concern sa student. may iba din dyan na pumapatol sa student. pare baguhin mo system dyan. i know kayang kaya mo yan. pag may student ka na game, bigay mo # ko. hahaha. take care pare.. set ka outing…

    Like

  5. November 12, 2007 at 3:54 pm

    marc & william, thanks a lot!

    maline, i’ll check his blog out. thanks!

    dennis, i didnt know that u are reading my blogs! tahimik mo kc jan! buti nagparamdam ka! hilig mo pa rin sa outing ah! hehe!

    Like

  6. November 13, 2007 at 3:33 pm

    nice blog!nice topics…nice page…

    and most of all…you’re doin’ a great job!!!

    hope magtagal ka pa sa pagiging CI mo…dami pang gustong maging nurse…

    GOD BLESS!

    Like

  7. November 14, 2007 at 10:38 pm

    ei gina! thanks for this inspiring comment!! God bless you too!

    Like

  8. November 26, 2007 at 7:49 pm

    you seem to be a good clinical instructor. keep up the good work.

    Like

  9. February 26, 2008 at 11:43 pm

    hi sir! when did you start teaching in yanga? last year? i just graduated there last april 2007. sayang d kita naging c.i. hehe. c sir marlon at sir stephen mbbait din n c.i. jan. kmusta po si sir joaqs? ingatz and Godbless.

    Like

  10. 11 digitalcatharsis
    March 3, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    hi darrell, i just started teaching there last july 2007… di po tayo nag abot 🙂 tnx for dropping by…

    Like

  11. June 21, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    Ah, then you have experienced what my clinical instructors have gone through! They always say that we are really pasaway. Sometimes they even threaten to resign! Haha, but at the end of it all, they really stuck with us until we got things right. I’m quite surprised that you managed to handle students! Whenever I remember my college years, I swore never to be a CI.

    Like

  12. June 25, 2011 at 7:14 pm

    whoa! at naging clinical instructor ka pa! congrats sa super dami mong experiences sa buhay 🙂

    Like

  13. 14 kat
    June 28, 2011 at 2:34 am

    ang galing mo sigurong C.I. kaya di na nakalimutan ng estudyante na pasalamatan ka….kasi pag di ka magaling…di yan maka isip na pasalamatan ka hehehe.

    Like


I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts with me here :)

No one person can ever experience all that life has to offer. It is only through sharing - experiences, feelings, insights - that we can hope to grow beyond our own meager lifetime.

Nurses are tough people. But behind great nurses are inspirations to keep them doing what they need to do - TO CARE.

Nurse or non-nurse, please feel free to move around the site. Everybody needs inspirations to be encouraged every now and then.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,332 other followers

***Inspirational quotes are lifted from elsewhere (Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, Instagram). If there are issues regarding copyright, please let me know and I'll take the post down.

Blog Stats

  • 326,252 hits

NEGOSYONG PANG OFWs! Check mo to!

Unified-Products-and-Services-Inc_-or-UPS-for-brevity-sister-company-of-GPRS-Victor-globalpinoy_me-was-established-2011

Archives

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Live Traffic Feed

Proud Member :)

BC_BLOGGERS

DISCLAIMER

Health posts here are the author's opinion and should not be taken as professional advice. It is still best to consult your physician. Posts in this site protect patient confidentiality, so if you have any concerns regarding any of the nursing posts, please send me a message and I will be happy to address them.

