16
Oct
07

Catharsis: What’s Behind the Name?

 Some friends emailed me asking what the meaning of catharsis is, and why I chose this title for my blog site. Here’s a cut-and-paste meaning of the word courtesy of Encarta Dictionary:

catharsis ca•thar•sis [kə thrsiss] n

1. emotional release: an experience or feeling of spiritual release and purification brought about by an intense emotional experience

2. THEATER emotional purging through Greek tragedy: according to Aristotle, a purifying of the emotions that is brought about in the audience of a tragic drama through the evocation of intense fear and pity

3. PSYCHIATRY purging of complexes: the process of bringing to the surface repressed emotions, complexes, and feelings in an effort to identify and relieve them, or the result of this process

4. MEDICINE purging of bowels: cleansing or purging of the bowels [Early 19th century. Via modern Latin from Greek katharsis , from kathairein “to purge, cleanse,” from katharos “pure, clean.”]

Source: Microsoft® Encarta® Reference Library 2003

I am not sure when and where I learned about this word but I have been using this since time immemorial. I used it as a title for my editorial column for my English class school paper project. I also used it as pen name in college when I had to write articles, essays, and oratorical pieces.

The word itself is not appealing since not everybody knows its meaning. It isn’t catchy for a title. Neither does it give you an immediate picture of what the content is all about. One has to dwell on the word itself before you get its meaning.

And this I guess is a reflection of myself. I maybe unknown to many. I may not catch your instantaneous interest. But once you get to know me better, you’ll find a best friend in me (I hope, Hehe!).

The word’s meaning has also something to do with the purpose of my writing. By expressing my thoughts and ideas into words, I am able to release my inner self and I am able to reach out to another person and touch somebody else’s life. The process gives me a sense of emotional release, a feeling of joy, and a certain degree of fulfillment.

I hope that through my blogs, I will be able to express myself better, creating a clearer and better impression of who I really am. I also want to touch more lives in this world. I do not want to walk on this planet, then just leave. I want to leave an imprint. This blog could be it.


7 Responses to “Catharsis: What’s Behind the Name?”


  1. October 21, 2007 at 4:22 pm

    i am a blog reader myself, but i have no guts yet to make my own… if ever i decide to start mine, your site is one of my inspiration… God bless.

    Like

  2. April 14, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    Deep person..
    Inspiring blog site..
    Witty blog name! :):)
    Galing!

    Like

  3. 3 digitalcatharsis
    April 15, 2008 at 7:14 pm

    thanks, william! thanks leah!!

    Like

  4. June 21, 2011 at 4:50 pm

    So that’s the story behind the name! I was so amused that I kept visiting it before I learned about it in review. It’s pretty cool that you’re applying everything you know to even the smallest details of your life.🙂

    Like

  5. June 25, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    wow ang ganda pala ng meaning ng blog name mo… now I know and I absolutely agree that your really express your thoughts into words🙂

    Like

  6. June 27, 2011 at 6:52 pm

    ..I was about to ask the sme Question din sana…perfect name for your blog..at alam mo ba if ever you buy a domain na digitalcatharsis.com hindi na pwede?..kasi someone own it already..minsan kasi nakamali ako..deretso .com ang na type ko nakita ko yun..pero hindi naman sa yo..sayang..
    pero sabi mo nga di ba..your happy na sa sa free platform na meron ka..so okay na yun

    Like

  7. 7 kat
    June 27, 2011 at 7:03 pm

    ay yan pala ibig sabihin ng blog name mo….ang galing mo naman….akala ko naman eh, something like new tech na ginagamit ng mga nurses ngayon nyahaaahaha.

    Like


I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts with me here :)

No one person can ever experience all that life has to offer. It is only through sharing - experiences, feelings, insights - that we can hope to grow beyond our own meager lifetime.

Nurses are tough people. But behind great nurses are inspirations to keep them doing what they need to do - TO CARE.

Nurse or non-nurse, please feel free to move around the site. Everybody needs inspirations to be encouraged every now and then.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,307 other followers

***Inspirational quotes are lifted from elsewhere (Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, Instagram). If there are issues regarding copyright, please let me know and I'll take the post down.

Blog Stats

  • 315,606 hits

Please click :)

NEGOSYONG PANG OFWs! Check mo to!

Unified-Products-and-Services-Inc_-or-UPS-for-brevity-sister-company-of-GPRS-Victor-globalpinoy_me-was-established-2011

Archives

October 2007
M T W T F S S
    Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Live Traffic Feed

Proud Member :)

BC_BLOGGERS

DISCLAIMER

Health posts here are the author's opinion and should not be taken as professional advice. It is still best to consult your physician. Posts in this site protect patient confidentiality, so if you have any concerns regarding any of the nursing posts, please send me a message and I will be happy to address them.

