07
Oct
07

The Incredible Nurses of Ward 11

For some personal reasons, I recently resigned from my nursing job in a military hospital in Riyadh. Leaving the work place was quite difficult for me, not because of the place itself, but because of the wonderful people I worked with and I have to leave behind.

I worked in the neurosurgery unit (ward 11) of the hospital for five years. The nursing team I worked with was so amazing. My co-nurses work very fast and they act so quick. Our unit has a very busy surgical set up and I guess the staff just got acquainted with how things work in the unit. Everybody just got used to the fast-paced ward. We dealt mostly of comatose and bed-ridden patients who are acutely-ill, and that explains why we have a very demanding work place.. Add to that was the multi-cultural mix of the staff which in one way affects work relationships, and work itself. The challenges in our department were vast. I myself would not realize how quick the day would finish because I was working every minute of the shift.

But despite of the busy routine, my colleagues were still able to find time to reach out and go beyond what’s needed to be done for the day. In between lifting patients, turning bed-riddens, and answering phone calls from doctors, my co-nurses would ask each other how their families were doing, how their last shifts went, and what their plans were for the next off. There would still be time to share a smile. And for some good laugh.

It was also quite amazing that no matter how busy the unit was, everybody would still be ready to lend a helping hand if somebody needed one. I was impressed with one of my colleagues who would always go room-to-room to check all of her teammates for the shift, just to make sure everybody was doing okay, if anybody needed a lift. And that was despite her also being busy with her own patients. The other nurses, in return followed this splendid example. It was so nice to work when you know everybody was looking after each other. You feel as if you are always standing on a safe ground.

It was easy to have a bad day in the unit especially when you deal with arrogant doctors, complaining sitters, hectic diagnostic schedules. But how could you frown if there was somebody behind you, telling you to maintain your smile and to keep your sanity. By the end of the shift, everybody would be very tired, but were all still cheerful and in high spirits.

And since I have left that hospital for more than three months now, I can only wish to meet nurses as incredible as my nursing friends in Riyadh. To them I owe a great deal of knowledge. To them I owe my present attitude towards work.


10 Responses to “The Incredible Nurses of Ward 11”


  1. October 9, 2007 at 1:57 am

    i am also a nurse. it is such a treasure to have colleagues like yours. God bless!

    Like

  2. October 9, 2007 at 2:14 am

    Ganda naman ng sinulat mo tungkol sa mga ka-ward mo. I wonder kung nabasa na nila ‘to. I’ll let them know… They should be proud of themselves…

    Like

  3. October 11, 2007 at 9:00 am

    thanks for the nice comments…it was nice to know that you enjoyed every minute of your stay in Ward 11, not for anything else but for us…we miss your presence especially during parties and gimmicks…take care always and the gang says hi…good luck!!!

    Like

  4. October 12, 2007 at 6:43 am

    ei alma!! thanks for visiting my site! i hope our friends there would also find time to check out my blogs! my regards to everybody!

    Like

  5. October 25, 2007 at 7:21 pm

    It was so nice to read your blog about the people you worked with in Ward-11.I do agree with what you said though I only worked there once as a float I could tell you are absolutely right and what you are telling is real.I do like the staff not only as colleagues at work but as party friends they are all funny,talented and great.
    Don’t forget to tell me when are you leaving for the States.
    Mary Blaire

    Like

  6. October 27, 2007 at 5:02 am

    after mary blaire, who comes from another ward, commented the same about ward 11, i became more confident that what i wrote is not just a personal opinion, but rather a fact.

    thanks, blaire, for visiting my site. i’ll keep u posted about my US plans. all the best.

    Like

  7. June 21, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    It’s really something when you have great friends and a nice work, but then you had to leave them behind and pursue other things. But look at you now, you have been so successful lately and you have a lot of new friends.🙂

    I have a question though, is working in a military hospital that different than working on a regular hospital?

    Like

  8. June 25, 2011 at 6:53 pm

    looks like you gained a lot of nursing friends in Riyadh😉

    Like

  9. 9 kat
    June 27, 2011 at 6:45 pm

    mabuti naman at mababait din naman pala ang mga nakakasama mo..

    Like

  10. June 27, 2011 at 7:35 pm

    Good at nakakkita ka rin ng mg kaibigan..it eases all the loneliness kahit na papano..lalo na nung la pa jan family mo..

    Like


I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts with me here :)

No one person can ever experience all that life has to offer. It is only through sharing - experiences, feelings, insights - that we can hope to grow beyond our own meager lifetime.

Nurses are tough people. But behind great nurses are inspirations to keep them doing what they need to do - TO CARE.

Nurse or non-nurse, please feel free to move around the site. Everybody needs inspirations to be encouraged every now and then.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,307 other followers

***Inspirational quotes are lifted from elsewhere (Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, Instagram). If there are issues regarding copyright, please let me know and I'll take the post down.

Blog Stats

  • 315,972 hits

Please click :)

NEGOSYONG PANG OFWs! Check mo to!

Unified-Products-and-Services-Inc_-or-UPS-for-brevity-sister-company-of-GPRS-Victor-globalpinoy_me-was-established-2011

Archives

October 2007
M T W T F S S
    Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Live Traffic Feed

Proud Member :)

BC_BLOGGERS

DISCLAIMER

Health posts here are the author's opinion and should not be taken as professional advice. It is still best to consult your physician. Posts in this site protect patient confidentiality, so if you have any concerns regarding any of the nursing posts, please send me a message and I will be happy to address them.

